- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Women's Studies
Women's Studies
Jump to: Women's Organizations | Other Sites of Interest
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1984- )
- Provides full text for over 1,250 academic,social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed, and over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- Alternative Press Index (1991- )
- Indexes approximately 250 alternative, radical, and left publications that report on and analyze cultural, economic, political and social change. Ninety percent of the publications indexed are unique to API.
- PsychINFO (1887- )
- Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963- )
- Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes 3 subfiles: Sociological Abstracts, International Review of Publications in Sociology (IRPS), and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts (SOPODA). IRPS provides book abstracts and review citations, and SOPODA focuses on solutions to social problems.
Comprehensive Sites for Women's Studies
- BUBL LINK: Women
- "The BUBL Information Service is a networked information service operating on the Internet. It provides the UK higher education community with value-added access to Internet resources and services....BUBL is located and run from the Andersonian library of the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland." This site contains links to a variety of resources.
- femina
- This site provides information and Internet links to a wide spectrum of "female friendly websites." Part of the Cybergrrl Webstation.
- FEMINIST.COM
- "FEMINIST.COM is about empowering women to network, take action and become informed..." This site provides access to information and resources on issues affecting women.
- SOSIG: Women's Studies
- "SOSIG [Social Science Information Gateway] is an online catalogue of thousands of high quality Internet resources relevant to social science education and research. Every resource has been selected and described by a librarian or subject specialist... SOSIG is based at the Institute for Learning and Research Technology, University of Bristol (UK)."
- University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian's Office
- This site features access to the publications and services of the UW Women's Studies Librarian's Office, as well as numerous links to other sites.
- Voice of the Shuttle
- This "Web Page for Humanities Research" contains an excellent collection of links to Women's Studies topics on its Gender Studies page. Created by Alan Liu, professor in the English Dept. at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
- Women's Liberation Research Network
- "The Women's Liberation Research Network is a group of students, teachers, activists, librarians, and archivists who have an interest in some aspect of the U.S. Women's Liberation Movement... The purpose of this network is to provide simple connective tissue among those researching, writing, teaching, and collecting in the hopes that we can provide a a better, more accurate understanding of this period in history." Maintained by Ginny Daley, Women's Studies Archivist & Resource Specialist, Duke University Libraries.
- Women's Studies Resources
- "[C]ontains collections of conference announcements, calls for papers, and employment opportunities, as well as a picture gallery, and a significant number of government documents, and much more." Maintained by Megan L. Hollmann, this site is part of inforM, the public information server at the University of Maryland, College Park.
- WomensNet
- "WomensNet supports women's organizations worldwide by providing and adapting telecommunications technology to enhance their work." Maintained by IGC (Institute for Global Communications), this site provides links to resources and information on current issues affecting women throughout world.
- WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
- Created and maintained by the Women's Studies Section Collection Development Committee of the Association of College and Research Libraries, this site "provide[s] access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies."
Women's Organizations
Other Sites of Interest
- CLNet's Chicana Studies Home Page
- CLNet [Chicana/o Latina/o Network] is sponsored by several institutions within the University of California system. This site provides information and links to other Internet resources.
- Isis Plus
- "[A] World Wide Web page which features the art and culture of women of the African diaspora."
- Willamette University Women's Center
- Information and links.
- Women and Computing
- Links to Internet resources maintained by the Palo Alto chapter of CPSR (Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility).
- Women's Studies at Willamette University
- Information about the Women's Studies program at Willamette.

