- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Theatre
Theatre
Jump to: Acting | Dance | Costume | General Theatre Links | Historical Periods | Journals | Lighting | Musical Theatre | Play Resources | Playwriting | Research | Reviews | Stagecraft
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1984- )
- Provides full text for over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. All articles are in English.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1989- ) and (1980-93)
- Provides citation tracing for over 1,100 international arts and humanities journals, as well as selective coverage of approximately 6,800 social sciences and science journals. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Please logoff when finished.
- MLA Bibliography (1963- )
- Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature (including drama), linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers.
Acting
- Actors Equity Association
- The webpage for the professional Stage Actors Union includes FAQ, constitution/bylaws, and other info germane to the working actor.
- The Actorsource Homepage
- Provides practical advice for the novice actor and includes valuable lists of agencies, casting directors, selected conservatories, colleges and universities with programs in actor training.
- The Voice and Speech Source
- A superb web "classroom" for voice training that includes a glossary, lessons on voice, sound, phonetics and speech, and a index with links to pages focused on voice, speech, accents and dialects.
Costume
- The Costume Page
- A comprehensive collection of resources on historical, ethnic, and theatrical costume.
- Milieux: The Costume Site
- "Online costuming sources for historical, science fiction and fantasy costumers."
- The History of Costume by Braun & Schneider
- A web version of the 19th century book on the history of costume with plenty of full-color illustrations.
- The History of Greek Costume
- A site devoted excusively to the portrayal of Greek costumes through the centuries.
- Elizabethan Costuming Page
- A detailed historical and visual guide on Elizabethan dress that includes sewing and catalog information.
Dance
- SapphireSwan Dance Directory
- A directory of links on specific dances styles ranging from the mainstream (ballet) to the unusual (zydeco).
- Dance WWW Virtual Library
- A comprehensive collection of links to dance-related information available on the web.
General Theatre Links
- The Intuitons College Theatre Guide
- A theatre guide with links to college theatre companies, schools and departments, and performing arts centers
- McCoy's Guide to Theatre and Performance Studies
- A theatre resource guide with comprehensive lists for web resources, online indexes and databases, electronic texts, journals and magazines, listservs and newsgroups.
- The WWW Virtual Library of Theatre and Drama
- A comprehensive collection of theatre-related links available on the world wide web that is especially useful for scholarly research.
Historical Periods/Styles
- The Internet Classics Archive: 441 searchable works of classical literature
- Database includes English translations of ancient Greek plays; a search engine allows users to construct powerful queries to search the texts by word, phrase, work and author.
- European Medieval Drama Links
- An index devoted to medieval drama offering links to texts, publications, illustrated manuscripts, costumes, props, make-up, music, and dance.
- Shakespeare
- The Complete Works of Shakespeare Online. Site includes chronological and alphabetical listing of plays, a glossary and a web-version of Bartlett's Familiar Shakespearean Quotations.
- Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
- An index to Shakespeare internet resources with links to the Bard's works, life and times, and criticism.
- Restoration Drama Homepage
- A webpage devoted to Restoration dramatists (Congreve, Shadwell, and Wycherley), history and politics.
- Kabuki for Everyone
- Explores the art of Kabuki -- a traditional form of Japanese theatre -- with video illustrations and pages discussing Kabuki music, make-up, and history.
Journals (Online>
- TDR: Theatre Drama Review
- A journal of performance studies covering performance in everyday life, rituals, media, dance, theatre, performance art, popular entertainments, and sports -- emphasizing the experimental, the anthropological, the intercultural and the interdisciplinary.
- Theatre Journal
- "Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production."
Lighting
- Lighting and Electronics, Inc.
- A business page that contains useful technical information on lighting such
as lighting math formulas, operation and safety guides, and layout and approval
sheets.
- Lighting Links Page
- An index to links on lighting standards and organizations, product inofrmation, companies, publishers and publications, health and safety information, special effects and pyrotechnics, training and more.
Musical Theatre
- Musicals.Net
- A central location for information about a large number of musicals including selected images and lyrics, songlists and synopses.
- Jill Hobgood's Musical Sites List
- "An abundance of links and more for Musical Theatre fans."
Play Resources
- Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
- Site offers directories and listings for identifying and purchasing specific plays, as well as providing an online licensing application. Search by keyword, cast size, gender, and length. Each entry includes a plot synopsis, casting information, price, and licensing fee.
- Inter-Play
- "An on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals... [A]pproximately 13,000 citations to plays, many of which are not included in the standard printed play indexes."
- Play Text Sources
- A list of internet-resources with full-texts to works of literature produced by ELAC Theatre.
- Samuel French, Inc.
- Page includes a database for plays searchable by title and author, order forms and information on royalties, rights and restrictions.
Playwriting
- Playwriting Seminars
- A virtual classroom providing information on playwriting techniques and the business of selling plays.
- Parabasis
- A biannual journal for playwrights with each issue focusing on a specific topic, i.e. dramaturgy.
- Resources for Playwrights
- A small collection of web links useful to playwrights.
Research
- Theatre Subject Guide
- A useful webliography of sites related to theatre and drama, courtesy of Louisiana State University.
- ELAC Theatre
- Site offers two main sections -- Theatrepedia, an Internet theatre library, containing theatre technique and history, and the Writers Workshop, containing a collection of new plays and monologues submitted from around the world.
- Yale School of Drama Library
- Yale provides a list of research tools and links useful for students of theatre.
Reviews
- AisleSay
- Provides reviews for major plays in New York and ten other major cities.
- New York Today
- Click on the Theatre & Dance link to access news and reviews on New York City theatre.
Stagecraft
- The International Theatre Design Archive
- An archive of scene, costume and lighting designs currently in the collection may be accessed four ways: by title, by playwright, by designer and by producer.
- Glossary of Technical Theatrical Terms
- Glossary of technical terms that can be viewed alphabetically or by category.

