- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Sociology
Sociology
Jump to: Electronic Indexes | Electronic Journals | Selected Sites | Adulthood and Aging | Crime, Delinquency and Criminal Justice | Death, Dying and Bereavement | Marriages and Families | Racial and Ethnic Relations | Social Research Design
Library-supported Databases
- Alternative Press Index (1991- )
- Indexes approximately 250 alternative, radical, and left publications that report on and analyze cultural, economic, political and social change. Ninety percent of the publications indexed are unique to API.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971- )
- Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Complete (1984- )
- Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
- HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) (1935- )
- Provides access to books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Latin American studies, including Anthropology, Art, Economics, Government and Politics, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology.
- PAIS International (1972- )
- Offers access to topics with an international focus,including public policy, public administration, government relations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, and government documents.
- PsycInfo (1887- )
- Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages and includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
- Social Science Citation Index (1989- )
- Provides citation tracing for 1,700 social sciences journals, as well as selected coverage of over 3,300 scientific and technical journals. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Includes abstracts for over 60% of the citations. Please logoff when finished.
- SocioAbs (1963- )
- Indexes and abstracts articles from over 250 English language journals in the field of sociology. Also includes the subfile Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts SOPODA, which covers 1979 to the present.
General Directories
- Social Science Information Gateway - SOSIG
- SOSIG provides easy access to quality information sources
over the networks. All of the resources that appear on the Gateway have been
described, classified and entered into a searchable database.
- Social Sciences WWW Virtual Library -- The Internet Guide to Social Sciences
- This
site provides access to documents, resources and information in the
Social Sciences.
- Yahoo's Sociology Page
- Yahoo identifies and organizes sociology resources
on the Internet.
Selected Sites
- American Sociological Association
- The American Sociological Association (ASA), is a non-profit
membership association dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific
discipline and profession serving the public good. This site contains
all sorts of information about the organization, including ASA conferences,
publications, and employment opportunities.
- ERIC Homepage
-
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a national information
system designed to provide users with ready access to an extensive body
of education-related literature; this site offers a gateway to a
number of excellent resources.
- The Polling Report
- This site
offers polling results on a wide variety of topics (including abortion, the death
penalty, gun control, global warming and more) from many of the top pollsters
in the United States.
- Yahoo's Society and Culture: Environment and Nature
- A great place
to go for a list of resources on Society and the Environment. Covers
such topics as animal rights, ecotourism, environmental ethics,
organizations, recycling, and more!
Adulthood and Aging
- National Institute on Aging (NIA)
- The NIA "promotes healthy aging by conducting and
supporting biomedical, social, and behavioral research and public
education."
- Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center (ADEAR)
- The ADEAR Center
provides information on Alzheimer's disease and related dementias. NIA
provides this service.
- The American Geriatrics Society (AGS)
- AGS "is the premier professional
organization of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and
well-being of all older adults."
- Social Gerontology & the Aging Revolution
- Created by a professor from Trinity University, this site has an enormous amount of information relating to gerontological issues. It includes materials on politics, economics, biology, psychology and sociology of aging.
Crime, Delinquency and Criminal Justice
- National Criminal Justice Research Service (NCJRS)
-
"NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research,
policy, and program development worldwide."
- PAVNET Online (Partnership's Against Violence Network)
- PAVNET Online "is a new approach to give
users information about techniques for combating violence in American
society. It represents the cooperation of multiple Federal agencies to
quickly bring informationon anti-violence programs to State and local
officials. It is designed to relay the latest information in the most rapid
way possible--via electronic media."
Death, Dying and Beveavement
- The End of Life: Exploring Death in America
- This interesting web site created by staff from National Public Radio (NPR), includes transcripts from various NPR programs dealing with death, a list of resources for people with life-threatening diseases, an extensive bibliography, readings and more.
- Sociology of Death and Dying
- Created by a professor from Trinity University, this site has all sorts of interesting information on death including how we die, death across cultures and time, death and social institutions, moral debates on deaths by abortion or capital punishment and more.
Marriages and Families
- Forum on Child and Family Statistics
- This site, created by the Federal Interagency Forum on
Child and Family Statistics, "offers easy access to federal and state
statistics and reports on children and their families."
- National Partnership for Women & Families
-
This organization uses public education and advocacy to promote fairness in the workplace, quality health care, and policies that help women and men meet the dual demands of work and family.
- Sloan Work and Family Research Network
- This site offers a host of
information on work and family research.
Racial and Ethnic Relations
- Migration and Ethnic Relations
- This is a collection of links to major Internet
resources in the field of migration and ethnic relations.
Social Research Design
- The ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation
- This ERIC
(Educational Resources
Information Center) site contains the Educational Testing
Service (ETS) Test Collection database with records on over 10,000 tests
and research instruments; the records describe the instruments and
provide availability information. Includes citations to review
information
from reference guides such as Mental Measurements Yearbooks and Test
Critiques (resources available in the Hatfield library Reference
collection).
- Gallup Organization
- This organization is responsible for conducting the Gallup Poll, a leading source of public opinion since 1935. Their web site makes available all sorts of polling information on a wide variety of topics.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
- ICPSR provides:
access to
the world's largest archive of computerized social science data; training
facilities for the study of quantitative social analysis techniques; and
resources for social scientists using advanced computer
technologies.
- The Polling Report
- This site
offers polling results on a wide variety of topics (including abortion, the death
penalty, gun control, global warming and more) from many of the top pollsters
in the United States.
- Research Methods Knowledge Base (RMKB)
- This is a "comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods." A great place to go for help with the whole research process, RMKB was created by a professor from Cornell University.
- Survey Research Center
- If you are interested in locating information on survey
research, this site produced by Princeton University's Survey Research
Center is a good place to look! It includes information on poll and
survey findings and data, data collection, survey analysis, report
preparation, survey research centers, market research and more.
contact
Joni RobertsAssociate University Librarian for Public Services and Collection Development
503-370-6741

