- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Rhetoric/Media Studies
Rhetoric/Media Studies
Jump to: Journal Article Databases | Newspaper Articles | Public Opinion Polls
Journal Article Databases
- Communications & Mass Media Complete (1984- )
- Provides full text articles from over 300 academic/scholarly journals in the fields of Rhetoric, Media Communications, and Popular Culture; supplemented by about 20 trade magazines in the same fields. Also provides selective coverage from over 100 journals in allied disciplines, and indexing without full text capabilities for several hundred additional journals & magazines. Citations from this database include links to see if Hatfield Library can deliver articles to you through other external relationships with journal & magazine publishers if the full text or full image are not available from C&MMC.
- Academic Search Premier (1984- )
- Provides full text articles from over 3,600 academic/scholarly journals & over 800 magazines in: Social sciences, Humanities, General science, Life sciences, Engineering, Education, as well as multi-cultural and inter-disciplinary publications. It also offers indexing and abstracts for an additional 3,200 journal titles. All articles are in English. However, if you are looking for articles covering the fields of either Business, Economics or Management, then you should be using the Business Source Premier database instead.
- PAIS International (1972- )
- Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
- Additional rhetoric oriented databases from Hatfield Library
- Current listing of all Hatfield Library's subscription datbases that are relevant to Rhetoric/Media Studies students including research in Communications, Linguistics; Public opinion polls; Public policy; and Interdisciplinary social sciences.
Newspaper Articles
- Lexis Nexis Academic
- Provides access to full-text information from over 4,000 sources including a wide variety of daily newspapers, popular magazines, business & trade magazines, news wire services, transcripts of selected television news programs and national polling services. The particular strength of this database lies in its extensive coverage of general news (from the USA and around the world); business news (both company specific and industry specific); and obituaries.
- New York Times Historical (1851-2004)
- Provides access to full-text, and full-image coverage from over 150 years of daily coverage of "all the news that's fit to print" from The New York Times and the Sunday New York Times newspapers. In addition to carrying comprehensive coverage of New York City, it historically has been considered to a be a "newspaper of record" for many historical speeches delivered in the Nation's Capital, as well as printing dispatches from around the world.
- New York Times (1980 to present)
- At first glance, this sounds like the previous entry. But this online access to the New York Times only covers the recent issues of the daily newspaper, and without any images. It is updated daily. If you need to see the photographs that accompanied an article, you can access those images from our Microfilm collection of The New York Times.
- Wall Street Journal (1984 to present)
- Provides access to the full-text coverage from over 20 years of daily coverage of The Wall Street Journal. In addition to its stellar coverage of financial news & financial markets (primary focus on US businesses, with secondary focus on other parts of the world), the WSJ is also reknown for providing concise summaries of general news from around the world.
Public Opinion Polling Resources
- Polling the Nations (1985- )
- A full-text database of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by over 1,000 polling organizations in the United States and 100 other countries from 1986 to the present time. Includes polls administered by polling organizations, universities, print and electronic media, as well as special interest groups.

