- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Religion
Religion
Jump to: Searching Religious Texts for specific words | Electronic Journals | Resources that cover Various Religions | Resources that focus on One Specific Religion
Library-supported Databases
- ATLA Religion Database (1949- )
- Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world. Approximately 35% of the articles indexed are not in English. This database combines three of ATLA's print indexes.
- Philosopher's Index (1940- )
- Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy. Over 480 journals from 38 countries are covered, comprising 80% of the database, with the remaining 20% covering books and anthologies.
Searching for specifc words or phrases within Religious Texts
- The Bible Gateway
- Allows you to search any of seven different Christian Bibles: New International Version (NIV); New American Standard Bible (NASB); Revised Standard Version (RSV); King James Version (KJV); American Standard Version (ASV); Darby Translation (Darby), and Young's Literal Translation (YLT). Each bible can be searched in any of seven languages: English, German, Swedish, Latin, French, Spanish or Tagalog.
- The Bible Browser from the Scholarly Technology Group/STG
- Offers access to nine different translations of the New Testament (8 in English and one in Latin), with a variety of powerful search options. Produced by Brown University, in Providence, RI.
- Search the text of The Book of Mormon
- The electronic text of the Book of Mormon is provided by the Humanities Text Initiative, on the Univeristy of Michigan campus, in Ann Arbor, MI.
- Search the electronic text of The Holy Qur'an / Quaran / Koran
- The electronic text of M.H. Shakir's translation of the The Holy Quar'an published in 1983 is provided by the Humanities Text Initiative, on the Univeristy of Michigan campus, in Ann Arbor, MI.
- The Quaran Browser from the Scholarly Technology Group/STG
- Offers access to five different translations of the The Holy Quran with a
variety of powerful search options. Produced by Brown University, in Providence, RI.
Electronic Journals covering Religion
- American Jewish History
- The official journal of the American Jewish Historical Society focuses on "the American Jewish experience."
- Journal of Early Christian Studies
- The official journal of the North American Patristics Society, " focuses on the study of Christianity in the context of late ancient societies and religions from C.E. 100-700."
- Journal of Buddhist Ethics
- This journal interprets "ethics" in a very broad sense.
- Journal of Religion and Film
- "Examines the description, critique, and embodiment of religion in film."
- Journal of Southern Religion
- Devoted to the study of religion in the American South.
- Marburg Journal of Religion
- Examines religions from around the world, produced by the Institute for the Study of Religion in Marburg, Germany.
- Modern Judaism
- "Interdisciplinary forum for discussion of the modern Jewish experience since the Haskalah, the Jewish Enlightenment."
- Religion & Ethics Newsweekly
- An electronic news magazine, supplementing the weekly television show of the same name, produced by Public Broadcasting Station WNET in New York City.
- TheStrip
- An electronic media journal, created by graduate students of at the University of Colorado who are trying to "breathe new life into the field by integrating technology with scholarship to push the boundaries of the Academic Study of Religion."
Resources that cover Various Religions
- Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance
- Collection of foonoted essays offering: brief histories & current overviews of individual religions & denominations; examining the key points of distinction between specific religions & denominations; discussing how key religions respond to certain social problems & conflicts. Texts and links are produce by the vounteer members of OCRT in Kingston, Ontario, Canada.
- Alexandria: Cosmology, Philosophy, Myth, and Culture
- (The Alexandria Journal)
- The Art of Tibetan Sand Painting
- (Houston Chronicle Interactive)
- Guide to Early Church Documents
- (Institute for Christian Leadership)
- A Resource Page for Biblical Studies
- (Volda College, Norway)
Resources that focus on One Specific Religion or Denomination
- Judaism and Jewish Resources
- (Shamash)
- Jewish Learning Index
- (Project Genesis)
- Baha'i Resources on the Internet
- Compiled by the Baha'i Computer & Communications Association.
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints Resources
- Internet resources about Mormons & the LDS Church, compiled for the public, by the LDS Yellow Pages.
- The Seventh-Day Adventist Periodical Index
- Online indexing of journals and magazines published by the Seventh-Day Adventist Church. This index of SDA literature is produced jointly by the Association of Seventh-Day Adventist Librarians and Andrews University in Berrien Springs, MI.
- Methodist Archives and Research Center - Primary & Secondary Texts
- Online texts of over fifty documents that chronicle the progression of thought within the Methodist denominations. Compiled by the John Ryans University Library of Manchester, England.
- Project Wittenburg
- An electronic library of Lutheranism, including the online texts of works by or about Martin Luther and other key people within the Lutheran denominations.
- Religious Society of Friends - The Quakers
- An unofficial listing of resources, web pages and connections to full text documents focusing on The Quakers and The Society of Friends.
- Web page of a Trappist abbey
- Mepkin Abbey - Order of Cistercians of the Strict Observance - The official web page of an abbey in South Carolina that traces the roots of its organization to 1098 when the The Cistercian Order was founded in France. Also provides connections to the web pages of Trappist and Benedictine abbeys around the world.

