- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Psychology
Psychology
Jump to: Electronic Journals | Selected Sites | Mental Health Issues | Style Guide | Music Therapy | Test Information
Library-supported Databases
- PsycINFO (1887- )
- Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to entire books, chapters of books and dissertations. The subject headings used in this database integrate with the definitions used in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders , both of which are produced by the American Psychological Association, and available from the Hatfield Library. Although all entries contain a clickable grey "WU" button to determine if you can obtain underlying journal articles from Hatfield Library's collection, the clickable links do not automatically work with other types of documents indexed by PsycINFO. You can determine the specific document type & publication type by viewing the "Complete Reference" to an item, rather than viewing just an abstract.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (Various dates)
- Provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. It covers topics such as consumer behavior; emotional and behavioral characteristics; psychiatry & psychology; mental processes; and observational and experimental methods. The subject headings used by this database may vary from the subject headings used in the PyscINFO database, since they are produced by different firms. Please logoff when you are finished using this database.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1989- )
- Also known as "Web of Science". Provides citation tracing for thousands of academic, scientific and technical journals across all of the social sciences, as well as interdisciplinary journals and discipline specific publications in humanities, physical sciences and health sciences. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Includes abstracts for over 70% of the citations. Please logoff when you are finished using this database.
- ERIC (1966- )
- Covers journal and research literature in the field of education. Includes two files: Research in Education (RIE, with documents carrying ED numbers), which indexes and abstracts the miscellaneous education literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE, with journal articles carrying EJ numbers), which indexes and abstracts hundreds of periodicals. This database was greatly revised in 2005 with major changes as to which journals are now analyzed.
- Education Index (1983- )
- Indexes over 400 English-language periodicals and yearbooks covering the field of education, from preschool through college, including special education. Also indexes book reviews. All entries in this database include a grey WU button that will allow WU users to obtain access to underlying articles either directly from electronic sources, or by submitting a request through our Inter Library Loan service.
- Professional Development Collection (Various dates)
- Designed for professional educators, this database provides access to over 500 full text journals, including more than 300 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage ranges from preschool through college, including special education. Some publishers force embargos on recently published articles. If an article is not directly available from this database, WU users can request an article through our Inter Library Loan service.
- Medline (1966 - )
- Provides international coverage of biomedical journals. Medline offers excellent coverage of areas such as neurosciences, psychopharmacology, psychiatric and physiological intervention and public health care.
- MuSICA
- MuSICA, the Music and Science Information Computer Archive, is a database that contains scientific research (references & abstracts) on music as related to behavior, the brain and allied fields. (formerly known as MBI, or Music and Brain Information Database.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963- )
- Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes 3 subfiles: Sociological Abstracts, International Review of Publications in Sociology (IRPS), and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts (SOPODA). IRPS provides book abstracts and review citations, and SOPODA focuses on solutions to social problems.
- Additional psychology oriented database from Hatfield Library
- Current listing of all Hatfield Library's subscription datbases that are relevant to Psychology students including research in Education, Gerontology, Sociology, Medicine, Public opinion polls; and Interdisciplinary social sciences.
General Directories
- BUBL Psychology Page
- BUBL Information Service originated in 1990 as the Bulletin Board for Libraries. BUBL is located and run from the Centre for Digital Library Research of the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland.
Electronic Journals
- Psycoloquy
- Psycoloquy
is a refereed international, interdisciplinary electronic journal sponsored
by the American Psychological Association (APA). Psycoloquy publishes target
articles and peer commentary in all areas of psychology as well as
cognitive science, neuroscience, behavioral biology, artificial
intelligence, robotics/vision, linguistics and philosophy.
- Directory of Open Access Journals: over 50 journals covering Psychology
- A directory of open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system where users can "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles".
Selected Sites
- American Psychological Association's PsycOnline
- PsycOnline are the official webpages of the American
Psychological Association. It includes information on such things
as employment
opportunities, APA books, journals and conferences, and stories from
the APA's "Monitor on Psychology".
- Social Psychology Network (SPN)
- SPN is based at Wesleyan University and it contains links to
thousands of psychology-related resources. Includes information
on PhD programs, research groups, journals and more. Topics covered
include prejudice and discrimination, gender, culture, social influence,
interpersonal relations, group behavior, aggression, etc.
Mental Health Issues
- Internet Mental Health
- This site was designed by a Canadian psychiatrist and it is
described as a "free encyclopedia of mental health information." Its
purpose is to share information on mental disorders, treatments,
and research. It includes booklets from professional organizations and
support groups, as well as articles from national magazines, professional
newsletters, and newspapers.
- Mental Health Net (MHN)
- This nicely organized resource offers access to mental
health topics of all kinds. It is divided into four sections:
Current news; Read & Listen; Resources, and Topics.
MHN is sponsored by CenterSite of Columbus, Ohio and is directed by a
clinical psychologist.
- National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI)
- "NAMI is a nonprofit, grassroots,
self-help, support and advocacy organization of consumers,
families, and friends of people with severe mental illnesses, such as
schizophrenia, major depression, bipolar disorder, obsessive-compulsive
disorder, and anxiety disorders." This site has book reviews,
informational fact sheets on various mental illnesses and treatments,
position papers, and more.
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
- "NIMH conducts and supports research nationwide on
mental illness and mental health, including studies of the brain,
behavior, and mental health services." NIMH is part of the National
Institutes of Health (NIH). This site contains press releases,
information on grants, conferences, and research reports all dealing with
aspects of mental health.
Style Guide
- APA Style Documentation
- This contains excerpts from the 5th edition of the APA's Publication Manual, which serves as the "style guide"
for formatting footnotes & bibliographies in many student written research reports.
- Electronic Reference Formats
-
The APA created this resource to offer guidance when citing
Internet resources and e-mail correspondence inside a research report.
Music Therapy
- American Music Therapy Association (AMTA)
- "AMTA was founded in 1998, its purpose is the
progressive development of the therapeutic use of music in
rehabilitation, special education, and community settings. AMTA is
committed to the advancement of
education, training, professional standards, credentials, and research in
support of the music therapy
profession." This site contains information about Music Therapy, careers,
publications, conferences and more.
- British Society for Music Therapy (BSMT)
- "BSMT was founded in 1958 by
Juliette Alvin and colleagues to
promote the use and development of music therapy. Today it disseminates
information, and organises conferences, workshops and meetings."
Test Information
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation
- This ERIC
(Educational Resources
Information Center) site contains the Educational Testing
Service (ETS) Test Collection database with records on over 10,000 tests
and research instruments; the records describe the instruments and
provide availability information. Includes citations to review information
from reference guides such as Mental Measurements Yearbooks and Test
Critiques (resources available in the Hatfield library Reference
collection).
- Test Reviews Online from the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
- For a fee, this website offers online access to the complete contents of the Mental Measurements Yearbook, that has been published for decades by the Buros Institute. Hatfield Library also has the printed volumes of this series, starting as far back as 1938.

