- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Politics
Politics
Jump to: Associations and Organizations | Current News | Elections | Electronic Journals | General Politics Sources | Other Selected Sites
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1975- )
- Provides full text for over 3,600 academic,social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- Alternative Press Index (1991- )
- Indexes approximately 250 alternative, radical, and left publications that report on and analyze cultural, economic, political and social change. Ninety percent of the publications indexed are unique to API.
- America History and Life (1964- )
- Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
- HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) (1970- )
- Contains international information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics covered include politics, economics, social issues, and Latin American arts and letters. Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals.
- Historical Abstracts (1967- )
- Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
- HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) (1935- )
- Provides access to books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Latin American studies, including Anthropology, Art, Economics, Government and Politics, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
- Provides access to full-text information from newspapers, journals, magazines and reference sources with strengths in the areas of current news, business, law, and politics.
- PAIS International (1972- )
- Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
- Philosopher's Index (1940- )
- Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy. Over 480 journals from 38 countries are covered, comprising 80% of the database, with the remaining 20% covering books and anthologies.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1994-)
- Provides citation tracing for 1,700 social sciences journals, as well as selected coverage of over 3,300 scientific and technical journals. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Includes abstracts for over 60% of the citations. Please logoff when finished.
General Politics Sources
- Kiosk: Journal of Geo-Politics
- Provides current information on countries from around the world. Select countries from pull-down menus. Information includes maps, culture, government, economy, travel, and other topics.
- Political Resources on the Net
- Listings of political sites available on the Internet sorted by country, with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments, Media and more from all around the world. Arranged by country.
- Political Science Resources on the Web
- Political web sites covering topics such as U.S., foreign, international relations, and political theory, etc. From the University of Michigan's Government Documents Center.
- Speakout.com/Policy
- Extensive coverage of current U.S. policy issues. Provides links to news reports, statements from policy analysts and research institutions. Also provides directories of think tanks, advocacy groups, and government agencies.
- Political Science Virtual Library
- A wide range of resources related to the study of politics, including University Departments of Political Science and Government, Journals and Collections of Papers, Research Institutions, Non-Profit Organizations and Government Agencies, and News Groups and ListServs.
- Political Science Resources
- A site maintained in Great Britain, it has a large list of Internet sites related to political science.
- Jefferson Project
- A "guide to on-line politics", providing links to federal, state, and international sources, as well as political groups on the right and left, political issues and activists, and political news.
- National Political Index
- This site attempts to maintain a comprehensive list of Internet sites related to politics. Note that quantity, rather than quality, is the emphasis.
- International Affairs Resources
- From the WWW Virtual Library, provides links to media resources, organizations, regions and countries, as well as a listing by topics in international relations.
Associations and Organizations
- American Political Science Association
- Information about the association, including publications, conferences, and grants and fellowships. Also provides links to Political Science Departments throughout the country. A collection of papers presented at the 1997 annual conference is available at Political Research Online (PROceedings).
- Jefferson Project's Guides to the Left and the Right
- Lists of directories, organizations, and other web resources organized by position on the political spectrum.
- Pacific Northwest Political Science Association
- Includes a list of political scientists in the Northwest, as well as conference information.
Current News
- CNN Interactive
- Up to the minute news from the Cable News Network.
- PollingReport.com
- Compiles current polling information from a variety of new sources.
- Newspapers on the Internet
- A large list of U.S. and foreign newspapers available via the Internet.
- Newshour with Jim Lehrer
- Current news, as well as selected transcripts of old shows back to Sept. 1995.
- C-SPAN
- Includes schedule and summaries of Congressional activities.
- Documents in the News
- Links to government publications and reports currently in the news. Includes an archive back to 1995.
- Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
- A non-profit news source that focuses on events in eastern and central Europe, and in the former Soviet Union.
- Foreign Commentary on the U.S.
- A collection of reports on the reaction in other countries to U.S. activities in the world. Prepared by the U.S. Information Agency.
- ISN Current World Affairs
- Provides links to documents related to current international conflicts, security issues, and other events in world politics.
- Online Intelligence Project
- Provides links to a variety of international news sources.
- Current World Affairs
- Provides links to documents related to current international conflicts, security issues, and other events in world politics. Sponsored by the International Relations and Security Network.
- BosniaLink
- Current news and documents related to Bosnia.
Elections
- Democracy Network
- Presidential election news, including summaries of candidate positions on the issues. Sponsored by the League of Women Voters Education Fund and the Center for Governmental Studies.
- Oregon's Secretary of State Office, Elections Division
- Current information about Oregon's elections, including candidate lists, ballot measures.
- Center for Responsive Politics' Opensecrets.org
- "The online source for money in politics data." Provides an easy way to look up federal candidate campaign contributions and how much individual donors and PACs contribute to campaigns.
- FECInfo
- A non-partisan site for locating federal campaign finance information. The data about the 1996 election is provided by the Federal Elections Commission.
- Project Vote Smart
- A source for federal and state election information, including information about the voting record of candidates.
- Ballot Watch
- Information about state ballot measures, including background information on the initiative and referendum process in each state. Sponsored by the Initiative & Referendum Insititute.
- Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior
- Compilation of National Election Studies data from 1952 to present. Provides summaries of social, economic, partisan, and public opinion characteristics of the American electorate.
- Historical Federal Election Statistics
- Statistics from U.S. Federal elections back to 1920
- Electoral College Home Page
- Historical and current information about the Electoral College, provided by the National Archives and Records Administration.
- Lijphart Elections Archive
- District and national-level voting data and electoral information for legislative elections in over 60 countries worldwide.
Electronic Journals
- Brookings Review
- A quarterly magazine addressing economic, political and foreign policy issues. Published by the Brookings Institution. Full text of articles available from Spring 1996 to present.
- Government Executive
- A professional magazine for government officials. Articles from Jan. 1996 are available.
- Harvard Political Review
- An undergraduate journal devoted to non-partisan analysis of politics and public policy. A limited archive of older issues is available.
- Human Rights Quarterly
- Scholarly journal providing current research in human rights policies. Full text articles available starting in 1995.
- Journal of Democracy
- A scholarly journal providing analysis of competing democratic viewpoints from an international perspective. Full-text articles available starting in 1996.
- Journal of Political Ecology
- A peer-reviewed journal examining issues related to the the linkages between political economy and human environmental impacts. Sponsored by the Political Ecology Society, all issues are available on the web site.
- Peace and Conflict Studies
- Articles address issues related to peace research and conflict analysis. Journal is published by the Published by the Lentz Peace Research Association on behalf of the Network of Peace and Conflict Studies. Archive includes issues back to 1995. Some articles are available in PDF format, and require Adobe Acrobat to view.
- Political Research Quarterly
- A peer reviewed journal publishing articles in all areas of political science. Internet edition provides table of contents and abstracts only.
- Roll Call Online
- News, gossip and special interest articles related to the U.S. Congress. Internet edition provides selected articles only.
- SAIS Review
- Scholarly and practical experience articles about contemporary world affairs. Full text articles available starting in 1996.
- Theory & Event
- A interdisciplinary journal relating political theory to contemporary politics and literary criticism. Available via the Internet only.
- World Politics
- A peer reviewed journal publishing articles in articles, all of the disciplines, methods, and viewpoints relevant to international relations and comparative politics. Full text articles available starting in 1996.
- Political Science Electronic Journals and Magazines
- A list of popular magazines and scholarly journals related to politics on the Internet.
Other Selected Sites
- Presidents of the United States
- A good starting point for basic information about U.S. Presidents.
- National Security Archive
- An independent non-governmental research institute that publishes declassified documents.
- NAFTA Resources
- A compilation of Web sources related to NAFTA maintained by the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Electronic Government Information
- Federal, State, and International government resources available on the Internet.

