- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Physics and Astronomy
Physics and Astronomy
Jump to: Associations & Societies | Astronomyy & Astronautics | Biography | Educational Resources | Electronic Journals | Fusion | High-Energy Physics | National Laboratories | Physical Constants | Physics (General) | Preprint Archives | Weather
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- AccessScience
- Electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Completely searchable.
- ACS Journals
- Searchable access to the full-text of ACS electronic subscriptions.
- Annual Reviews
- Searchable access to the full-text of AR in the physical and biomedical sciences.
- Institute of Physics Electronic Journals (1975- )
- Full-text access (1993- ) to all IOP journals. Also includes a search option.
- NASA Astrophysics DataSystem
- A NASA-funded project that provides access to abstracts in astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, and physics.
- SPIN (1975- )
- Searchable access to abstracts of articles published in AIP journals.
- Science Citation Index (1989- )
- As Web of Science, web-based access to the citation indexes. Includes citation and keyword searching of over 5000 science journals.
Subject Resources
Associations & Societies
Astronomy & Astronautics
- Astronomy Thesaurus
- Intended for use by astronomy librarians and scientists. Attempts a standard vocabulary for the discipline.
- Astrophysics Data System (NASA)
- Includes the ADS Abstract Service (approximately 220,000 abstracts in the areas of astronomy and astrophysics, space instrumentation, and physics and geophysics), the ADS Digital Library, data catalogs, and data archives.
- Center for AeroSpace Information (CASI) Technical Report Server (NASA)
- Contains over 2.2 million records (including abstracts) for publicly available aerospace documents, journal articles, and conference proceedings.
- Mars Global Surveyor (NASA)
- Provides information (and killer graphics) on the Mars Global Surveyor Project. Try also the Mars Pathfinder.
- NASA's Planetary Photojournal
- Includes images from solar system exploration programs.
- Observatorium (NASA)
- Provides access to earth and space data, including pictures of the earth, planets, stars, and the stories behind the images. This site has something for everyone...including an observation of the week, tools and applications.
- Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI)
- Information about the Hubble Telescope, including an archive of past observations, documentation, instructional information, software, and information about the institute.
Atomic Physics
- Atomic Spectroscopy: A Compendium of Basic Ideas, Notation, Data, and Formulas (NIST)
- Introduces atomic structure and spectra, and discusses wavelengths, spectral lines and LS coupling.
Biography
- Nobel Laureates in Physics
- "Contains a list in reverse chronological order of the award winners with brief biographical information and a description of the discovery."
Educational Resources
- Contemporary Physics Education Project (CPEP)
- A "clearinghouse" of educational materials (charts, software, text, web resources) to aid in the understanding of the "fundamental nature of matter and energy."
- Internet Plasma Physics Education eXperience (IPPEX)
- An interactive educational site designed to teach about fusion. This site is targeted towards middle and high school students.
- SpaceLink (NASA)
- NASA's Public Electronic Library. Provides access to instructional materials and resources, including information about NASA, news, and current projects.
Electronic Journals
Fusion
- Fusion Power
- Contains information about Fusion Power from UKAEA Fusion at Culham, including an overview of fusion power, background information, information about research conducted at Culham and links to other fusion-related sites.
High-Energy Physics
- HEP Databases(Durham University)
- Provides access to the HEPDATA databases: reaction data, particle properties, HEP experiments, SLAC Preprints, and e-mail IDs of HEP physicists.
- HEPIC: High-Energy Physics Information Center
- Collection of resources for HEP. Includes experiments, conferences, newsletters, journals, software, employment opportunities and the HEP Virtual Phonebook.
- High-Energy Astrophysics Learning Center
- "This site is primarily dedicated to a discussion of the High-Energy region of the electromagnetic spectrum, i.e. X-rays and gamma-rays, and the science that can come from examining the universe in those regions." Includes StarChild, an educational resource for children ages 4-14.
National Laboratories
Optics
- Atomic Physics on the Internet
- A rather large collection on sites related to atomic physics (organized by country). Also includes conferences, databases, software, Who's Who in Atomic and Plasma Physics, and job postings.
Physical Constants
- Physical Reference Data (NIST)
Physics (General)
- Atomic Physics on the Internet
- A rather large collection on sites related to atomic physics (organized by country). Also includes conferences, databases, software, Who's Who in Atomic and Plasma Physics, and job postings.
- CERN European Laboratory for Particle Physics
- Contains information on the laboratory and CERN, links to databases (including directories, CERNs library catalog, and the Preprint Server).
- CFD Online
- A collection of links to electronic information related to computational fluid dynamics.
- Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences (NSF)
- Includes information about the division, as well as links to other programs and resources.
- Einstein Papers Project
- Describes the project to publish his works, along with ordering information, a summary of each volume and a sample page from each volume.
- Particle-Surface Resources on the Internet
- Good collection of resources and links. Includes some very useful annotation.
- Physics Internet Resource
- This site is LOADED with useful information that ranges from societies and professional conduct statements to original physics publications and useful web sites (sorted by field).
- Physics Student Resources
- A collection of links to find physics online hints and help.
- Stanford Linear Accelerator (SLAC)
- Includes information about the SLAC, its programs and facilities, and the Virtual Visitor Center.
- Theoretical Physics (Vienna University of Technology)
- From the Institute for Theoretical Physics. Links include: the Condensed Matter Theory Group, the Particle Physics Group, PAW (Physics Around the World), TIPTOP and other physics-related links.
- TIPTOP: The Internet Pilot to Physics
- Contains some really good links, including the Physics Calender, Physics News Flashes, Today in the History of Physics, and Physics Around the World. Also includes the Virtual Laboratory.
- University of California, Berkeley Physics Home Page
- One of the best websites I've seen! Contains research in many areas of physics, including biophysics, nuclear physics, and optics. Includes preprints and instructional resources. Take a look!
- Virtual Physics Center
- Through collection of links organized by topic and type. Also includes courses, electronic journals and an exhaustive collection of links to almost anything a physicist could want. Do you want to know what position the sun is in right now? Try this site.
Preprint Archives
Weather
- Comprehensive Glossary (National Weather Service Forecast Office & NOAA)
- This is a well-rounded glossary of weather terms, useful for definitions that are easy to understand. Additional terms are linked internally for quick access.

