- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Philosophy
Philosophy
Jump to: Texts Authored by Noteworthy Philosophers | Encyclopedias & Dictionaries | Electronic Journals | Other Resources
Library-supported Databases
- Philosopher's Index (1940- )
- Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy. Over 480 journals from 38 countries are covered, comprising 80% of the database, with the remaining 20% covering books and anthologies.
Texts Authored by Noteworthy Philosophers
- Electronic texts of the Canons of Philosophy
- Texts of historically significant documents, compiled by ESERVER.ORG.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries of Philosophy
- The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Produced by the University of Tennessee at Martin.
- The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- An ever growing, collaborative project, developed by Stanford University's Center for the Study of Language and Information.
Electronic Journals
- American Journal of Philology
- Research in the fields of Greek and Roman literature, classical linguistics, and Greek and Roman history, society, religion, and philosophy.
- Arethusa
- Literary and cultural studies of classics.
- Configurations
- Published by the Society for Literature and Science. Explores the relations of literature and the arts to the sciences and technology.
- The Electronic Journal of Analytic Philosophy
- "Strengthens analytic philosophy by examining it at its most vulnerable points, drawing attention to areas of philosophical research previously neglected by analytic philosophy."
- Human Rights Quarterly
- Research, policy analysis and philosophical essays.
- Journal of the History of Ideas
- Interdisciplinary examination of the evolution of ideas and their influence on historical developments.
- Journal of Modern Greek Studies
- Publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present.
- Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal
- Social, ethical, and public policy aspects of bioethics and related areas of applied ethics.
- Modernism-Modernity
- Focuses on the methodological, archival, and theoretical exigencies particular to modernist studies, from 1860 to the present.
- Philosophy and Literature
- Explores the dialogue between literary and theoretical studies and philosophy.
- Philosophy, Psychiatry and Psychology
- "Advances philosophical inquiry in psychiatry and abnormal psychology while making clinical material and theory more accessible to philosophers."
- Technology and Culture
- Interdisciplinary historical studies of technology, in its relationships with society and culture.
Other Electronic Resources
- American Philosophical Association's web page
- APA Online.
- Philosophy Around the Web
- Online sources suggested by Oxford University's Philosophy Department.
- Eternal Philosophical Questions
- Principia Cybernetica Web, a service of the Free University of Belgium.

