- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Music
Music
Jump to: Classical | Jazz and Blues | Popular and Folk | Instruments | Opera/Voice | Music Education and Research | Related Sites of Interest
Library-supported Databases
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1989- ) and (1980-93)
- Provides citation tracing for over 1,100 international arts and humanities journals, as well as selective coverage of approximately 6,800 social sciences and science journals. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Please logoff when finished.
- Music Index (1979- )
- Indexes over 640 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. Includes book reviews, and reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. First performances and obituaries are noted.
Comprehensive Sites of Music Resources
- Music Resources
- An excellent site from the Sibelius Academy conservatory in Helsinki.
- Online Music Scholarship Resources
- A comprehensive listing of sites on subjects from "Music Professional Societies" to "Music Code and Software." Maintained by the Institute for Academic Technology, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.
- Royal Holloway Music Dept's Golden Pages
- An extensive, annotated listing of music resources maintained by the Dept. of Music, Royal Holloway, University of London.
- Selected Research Resources on the Internet
- A rich source of music sites maintained by the Oberlin College Conservatory Library.
- Selected Web Resources for Music and Musicology
- A listing of music resources maintained by Tom Moore, Music Listening Librarian, Princeton University.
- University of Michigan Music Library
- Another great, comprehensive source. Maintained by the University of Michigan School of Music.
- Worldwide Internet Music Resources
- A fine resource, with a wide-ranging assortment of music sites. Maintained at the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University.
- Yahoo! Music Page
- Links to thousands of music sites from the Yahoo! Internet directory.
Classical
- The Classical Music Dept.of the WWW Virtual Library
- Provides links to sites containing information on composers, artists, composition, performance, reviews of recordings and concerts, etc. Maintained by Gary Daum, Georgetown Preparatory School.
- Classical Net
- An excellent site for all aspects of classical music with lots of information and links. Maintained by Dave Lampson.
- Classics World
- A commercial site, maintained by BMG Music, containing information on composers, artists and recordings.
Jazz and Blues
- BluesWEB (King Biscuit Time)
- This site, devoted to blues music, contains numerous wav files. Maintained at Island Internet.
- Jazz Central Station
- Calling itself "The Global Network for Jazz," this multimedia site covers traditional and contemporary jazz. Produced by N2K Inc., a media entertainment and online information services company.
- JAZZ Online!
- "Jazz Online is the internet's longest running site devoted to jazz. Through innovative features and an entertaining and interactive format we strive to make jazz as accessible as possible to online music lovers."
- Pacific Jazz and Blues
- Links to sites in the Pacific Northwest, featuring news and information on clubs, artists, education and events.
- Red Hot and Cool Jazz
- A comprehensive listing of jazz and blues sites. Privately maintained by Jay Lackritz.
- WNUR-FM JazzWeb
- An excellent, non-commercial site with lots of quality jazz links. Sponsored by Northwestern University radio station WNUR-FM in Evanston, Illinois.
- World Wide JAZZ Web
- Based in the Netherlands, this site contains a host of links to the world of jazz.
Popular and Folk
Look in the Comprehensive Sites of Music Resources section for more extensive listings of sites related to Popular and Folk music.- Billboard Online
- A commercial site from the publishers of Billboard magazine. Useful for daily news items on the music industry and current chart information. Access to archival information (charts) and full-text articles is available only to subscribers for a fee.
- Ceolas: Celtic Music Archive
- A comprehensive resource for information on all aspects of the traditional music of the Celtic countries. Privately maintained by Gerard Manning.
- Digital Tradition Folk Song Database
- A searchable index of folk songs, containing over 6,000 songs. Maintained by Dick Greenhaus.
- The Netizens Cyberstop Music Page
- An eclectic assortment of links to mostly popular music sites, maintained by Michael Hauben.
- Ragtime Home Page
- Information about ragtime music and musicians, and links to other sites. Privately maintained.
- Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
- The Internet site of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland, Ohio.
- RootsWorld
- An online magazine that covers world, folk and roots music.
Instruments
- These pages contain links to additional sites and information about specific instruments.

