- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Medicine
Medicine
Jump to: Anatomy & Physiology| Diseases | Food Safety | Human Health & Nutrition | History of Medicine | Medicine (General) | National/International Organizations & Agencies | Pharmaceuticals | Statistics
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- Alt HealthWatch (1990 - )
- Provides full text for more than 140 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (1984 - )
- Provides access to journal and magazine articles, reference materials and reports pertaining to contemporary health issues.
- Medline Plus (1998 - )
- Contains health topics, drug information, medical dictionary, medical directories, and more. It also links to Pubmed (formerly called Medline).
- PubChem
- PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
- PubMed (Formerly Medline) (1966 - )
- Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. PubMed provides links to some full-text articles and related resources. Search for medical journal titles by abbreviations.
- SPORT Discus (1967 - )
- Provides comprehensive, international coverage of sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching and physical education. Materials abstracted include articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and other sources.
Anatomy & Physiology
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
- Provides subject acces to updated descriptions and over 1200 illustrations.
- Human Anatomy On-Line (Informative Graphics Corporation)
- Interactive human anatomy tutorial, heavily dependent on Java applets. Contains over 100 images and also includes descriptive links. Excellent resource for classroom presentations.
Diseases
- AIDS info
- Includes information on HIV clinical trials and treatment, experimental drugs and therapies, vaccines, a glossary, federal info, and fact sheets.
- AEGIS
- "The largest HIV knowledgebase in the world." Saying that this site has everything is an understatement. In addition to treatment and prevention iformation, this site also has links to newspapers from around the world, information on living with AIDS, on special groups affected by AIDS, and tons of publications. The sources are pretty much all reliable (the National Library of Medicine, NIH, CDC, etc.).
- HIV InSite (University of California, San Francisco)
- An unbelievable collection of information that is well-organized, current, and easy to access. All materials are reviewed for credibility, reliability, and accuracy. In addition to the amazing amount of information this source provides, it also links with other HIV resources available on the Web.
- Leukemia Society of America
- Includes the Society's library of information related to leukemia, lymphoma, and Hodgkin's.
- OncoLink (University of Pennsylvania)
- Contains information on specific types of cancer, as well as medical specialties that deal with cancer. Actually, this site contains information useful to anyone researching cancer, whether it is for personal or scholarly reasons. An excellent, well organized resource.
- Global Tuberculosis Page (World Health Organization)
- Includes TB-related information, including TB reports, factsheets, and books.
- Sickle Cell Information Center (Emory University)
- Contains information for health care providers and patients. Includes some full-text publications, information about the disease, and screening information, as well as more general information.
- Yale University School of Medicine Heart Book
- The text of the book, available for downloading using Adobe Acrobat. Includes a wealth of information on heart disease.
Food Safety
- Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (FDA)
- A plethora of information pertaining to food safety, including information on the National Food Safety Initiative and program information in the areas of biotechnology, food additives and premarket approval, Foodborne Illness and Bad Bug Book (Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins), Pesticides and Chemical Contaminants, and Seafood and Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia (Fish Images).
- Institute of Food Science and Technology
- Although this site is not well organized, its Hot Topics option does provide quite a bit of information related to food safety.
- www.Foodsafety.gov
- Although this site is designed primarily for consumer use, it contains an interesting collection of links and other information on food pathogens and contaminants.
History of Medicine
- Images from the History of Medicine (NLM)
- This catalog provides access to roughly 60,000 images in the History of Medicine Division (HMD). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, and more that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine.
- MedHist
- A searchable guide to the history of medicinal resources. Topics include diseases, quackery and folklore, historical periods, associations, anatomy and genetics, electronic literature and reference material, and more.
Human Health & Nutrition
- Alternative Health News Online
- Informative site created by journalists to provide access to current news and other resources.
- Dietary Supplements (FDA/CFSAN)
- Includes general information (including information on supplements, sales information, guidelines), warnings and safety information, industry information & regulations, and a questions & answers section.
- Food and Nutrition Information Center (USDA)
- Provides access to resources databases and other information related to nutrition, including: Dietary Guidelines, the Food Guide Pyramid, IBIDS (International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements database) and the USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference.
- HealthFinder (US Department of Health and Human Services)
- Searchable collection of Internet and other resources related to health. Well organized, with a large number of relevant topics from reliable sources.
- HealthWeb
- Searchable database providing access to health information on the Internet. The over 70 subjects make this an excellent starting point.
- USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
- Allows searchable access to the nutrient content of over 5,900 foods.
Medicine (General)
- Baylor College of Medicine
- A surprisingly well done resource. Links to The Molecular Biology Computational Resource (MBCR), BCM Human Genome Center, 3DEM Resource Center, and the extensive BCM gopher.
- HyperDoc (National Library of Medicine)
- Includes the The Visible Human Project. Also includes Finding Information on Health and Other Medical Topics, NLM Publications, Research Programs and Grants and Acquisitions.
- Med Web (Emory University)
- Searchable database of resources in the biomedical/health sciences.
- Virtual Hospital (University of Iowa)
- Originally created to "help meet the information needs of health care providers and patients". Includes links to information sheets, Web resources, and digital libraries.
National/International Organizations & Agencies
- American Lung Association
- In addition to information about the organization, there is also a wealth of information on lung and related diseases and related topics, such as environmental health.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- Contains information about the Centers, guidelines, diseases and funding opportunities. Also available are Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report, Emerging Infectious Diseases, the Combined Health Information Database, and the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Food and Drug Administration
- Contains information about the agency itself, as well as links to drug research, cosmetics research, toxicology, etc.
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- Includes an overview and introduction to NIH, including an employee directory and maps of the NIH "campus." Also contains the NIH Calendar of Events, special reports, and employment information, CancerNet, AIDS information, Clinical Alerts, the Women's Health Initiative, and the NIH Information Index.
- World Health Organization (WHO)
- Contains the World Health Report, the WHO Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER), and the WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS).
Pharmaceuticals
- RxList: The Internet Drug Index
- Searchable access to information on over 300 drugs. Also includes a listing of the 200 most frequently prescribed drugs.
- US Pharmacopeia
- Contains information on drug development, standards, and dosage.
Statistics
- State Health Facts Online (Kaiser Family Foundation)
- Provides statistical information on individual states as well as national comparisons for all 50 states, and sources as listed for each statistic. Includes a glossary, raw data, fact sheets, and a list of topics. The site is searchable.

