- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Mathematics
Mathematics
Jump to: Associations | Biography | Calculus | Electronic Journals | Geometry | History | Math (General) | Preprints | Software | Trigonometry
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1975- )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- ACM Digital Library
- Contains searchable and browseable access to ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
- LexisNexis Academic
- A collection of full-text information sources that includes coverage of general news sources, federal case law, and other government and political news.
- LexisNexis Statistical
- Index and detailed abstracts to statistical publications produced by the U.S. Federal Government and selected State and Private sources. Links to the full text of some publications are provided starting in 1995. Covers U.S. Federal Statistics, 1973- and State and Private Sources Statistics, 1980-.
- MathSciNet (1940-)
- Electronic version of Mathematical Reviews. In addition to the reviews, also includes The Abbreviations of Names of Serials (a list of journals and monographic book series that are reviewed by Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications), the 2000 Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) is a system used to categorize items covered by Mathematical Reviews. While you are there, take a look at e-MATH, the web site of the American Mathematical Society.
- Science Citation Index (1989- )
- As Web of Science, web-based access to the citation indexes. Includes citation and keyword searching of over 5000 science journals.
Associations
- American Mathematical Association (AMS)
- Founded in 1888, this society promotes mathematical research and its uses,
strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of
mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life.
- Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)
- Nonprofit organization dedicated to encouraging women and girls in the mathematical
sciences.
- Mathematics Association of America (MAA)
- (MAA) invites members and non-members alike interested in collegiate mathematics to peruse its site.
- Mathematics Societies and Association (SPMS)
- A list of national and international professional mathematics associations and societies.
- National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
- Dedicated to improving the teaching and learning of mathematics.
Biography & History
- Biographies of Women Mathematicians
- Biographical essays or comments on women mathematicians (with some illustrations). Also includes prizes, awards and honors for women mathematicians.
- History of Mathematics (Clark University)
- Provides access to a plethora of historical information for mathematics. Site includes links to other web resources, a chronology, bibliographies, and timelines that connect to pages about mathematicians.
- MacTutor History of Mathematics
- Lots of interesting information! Includes individual biographies on over 1100 mathematitians, articles on the development of mathematical ideas information on "famous curves " (with pictures!), and chronologies. Two special characteristics are the Mathematicians of the day page and the Birthplace Map. There are also links to other history of mathematics sites. The entire site is searchable.
Calculus
- Automatic Calculus Solutions (WebMathematica)
- Check calculus homework. Enter a function and click for a step-by-step derivative or integral with each step explained.
- Exambot
- Practice exams for applied calculus and physics in PDF and HTML formats. Detailed solutions to answers are given.
- History of Calculus
- Discusses the development of analytic geometry, derivative and integral functions dating from Archimedes to Newton.
- Visual Calculus
- Short descriptions and examples for limits, derivatives, and integrals. Various plug-ins are needed to view some of the pages, but it includes tutorials.
Electronic Journals
- American Journal of Mathematics (Full Text)
- Applied Mathematics E-Note (Full Text)
- Bulletin of the AMS (Full Text)
- Conformal Geometry and Dynamics (Full Text)
- Mathematics of Computation (Full Text)
- Representation Theory (Full Text)
Geometry
- Euclid's Elements
- Contains full-text of elements, illustrated with some added explanations.
- Gallery of Interactive On-Line Geometry (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)
- Covers geometric topics that range from rainbows to Kali mosaic drawings.
- Geometry Center (University of Minnesota)
- Includes information about current projects, publications and preprints, software, and the Gallery of Interactive Geometry, a collection of interactive web-based applications for mathematics.
Mathematics (General)
- Career Information Project
- Jointly sponsored by the American Mathematical Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Contains the AMS/SIAM Mentoring Program, the Mathematics Careers Bulletin Board, Career Planning Resources and Mathematical Applications Index (not career related, but still neat!).
- Catalog of Mathematics Resources on WWW and the Internet
- Not annotated, but still useful, this site contains links to a large number of math-related resources. The sites are arranged by category, including General WWW Servers (US and foreign), educational sites, gophers, software, books and periodicals, art , graphics and VRML.
- Centre for Innovation in Mathematics Teaching (University of Exeter, UK)
- The Centre focuses on progressing the research and curriculum development in mathematics teaching and learning. It includes a dictionary of units, math topics, puzzles, pastimes& competition, electronic access to the International Journal of Mathematics Teaching and Learning, and other mathematics resources.
- Division of Mathematical Sciences (NSF)
- Includes information about the division, as well as links to other programs and resources.
- Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics (Wolfram Research Inc.)
- An online collection of mathematical functions traditionally published in paper as tables of functions and formulae. This is claimed to be the largest compilation of mathematical functions on the Web (currently over 37,000). It includes an encyclopedia that provides indepth explainations on topics, and sophisticated search engine to search the site.
- Internet Resources for the Mathematics Student
- A good example of a "metasite". Links to hundreds of useful math sites. It is organized by topic as well as resource type (tool, organizations, etc.).
- Math Archives
- This searchable site includes teaching materials, software, and some really good links to mathematics related sites.
- Mathematical Constants
- Wonderful reference site for mathematical constants. Includes essay on each constant, with graphs, solved equations and references. *Note this site is available with plug-ins.
- PRIME Mathematics Encyclopedia
- The PRIME Encyclopedia contains about 1000 entries with searchable topics ranging from algebra and trigonometry to number theory.
- Prime Pages
- Contains links to research in prime numbers, including lists of prime numbers, articles, software, and even a section on Gallimaufry.
- WebMath
- Supposedly, this resource can solve math problems...it even shows it's work! Give it a try & let me know what you think...Of course, don't use it to do your own homework!
Preprints
Software
- Guide to Mathematical Software (NIST)
- An index to mathematical and statistical software. Searchable by what problem it solves, the product name, module name, and text in module abstracts.
- Math Software Archives, Reviews (Swarthmore)
- Annotated list of mathematical software! Well done!
Trigonometry
- Dave's Short Course in Trigonometry (Java based)
- An interactive, web-based attempt to teach trig and geometry concepts.
- S.O.S. Mathematics Trigonometry
- Covers measuring degrees, equations, and formulas. Includes illustrations and related links.

