- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Management
Management
Jump to: Contact Librarian for PMBA Students | Special Resources for PaCE Students | Career Research Resources | Interdisciplinary Sources | International Business | Nonprofit Organizations | Statistics | Stock Markets & Publicly Traded Firms | Traditional Subdivisions of Business
Library-supported Databases
- Business Source Premier (1984- )
- Provides full text articles from over 1,100 peer reviewed academic/scholarly journals & over 1,100 trade/industry magazines in Business, Economics and Management including Accounting, Auditing, Finance, Marketing, and Systems. This database also provides full text access to: country reports from around the globe, over 11,000 SWOT analyses, over 6,000 market research reports, over 4,000 industry reports, and 140 reference books. It also offers indexing & abstracting of approximately 800 other periodical titles. All articles are in English.
- Academic Search Premier (1984- )
- Provides full text articles from over 3,600 academic/scholarly journals & over 800 magazines in: Social sciences, Humanities, General science, Life sciences, Engineering, Education, as well as multi-cultural and inter-disciplinary publications. It also offers indexing and abstracts for an additional 3,200 journal titles. All articles are in English. However, if you are looking for articles covering the fields of either Business, Economics or Management, then you should be using the Business Source Premier database instead.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
- Provides access to full-text information from over 5,000 sources including a wide variety of daily newspapers, popular magazines, business & trade magazines, news wire services, transcripts of selected television news programs and national polling services. The particular strength of this database lies in its extensive coverage of general news (from the USA and around the world); business news (both company specific and industry specific); and obituaries.
- Coporate Affiliations Directory
- A directory of corporate families in the U.S. and worldwide, this resource provides insight into "who owns whom" with over 174,000 parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions - all the way down to the seventh level of reporting relationships. Includes public and private firms. Published by LexisNexis Group but this does not integrate with other databases from Lexis-Nexis.
- Standard & Poors NetAdvantage
- Provides full-text access to a variety of corporate and industry resources produced by Standard & Poors, including S&P Register, the Industry Surveys, the Investment Reviews, the Stock Guide, the Stock Reports, the Bond Guide, the latest 12 months of The Outlook, and other investment analysis tools.
- Regional Business News (1993- )
- Provides full text articles from the current editions of 35 local, regional and statewide business magazines & newspapers from across the USA. Indexing & abstracting is also carried from additional newspapers, but without links to the full text. All articles are in English. The majority of articles abstracted in this database are only available to Willamette University cardholders who have Inter Library Loan privileges.
- Business Dateline (1985- )
- This resource focuses on local, regional and statewide business magazines & newspapers from across the USA. More than 150 regional sources are currently indexed & abstracted by this database. In order to search by SIC or NAICS code you have to use the pull down menu to change from "keyword" searching to "standard industrial code" searching. You can also search for industry information using keyword phrases or subject headings. All articles are in English. The majority of articles abstracted in this database are only available to Willamette University cardholders who have Inter Library Loan privileges.
- EconLit (1969- )
- Provides access to 400 scholarly journals of economics, business economics, social economics, income distributions, and monetary controls from around the world. Covers both theoretical and applied aspects of economics and allied disciplines from the social sciences. Also includes book reviews, essays from multi-author books, unpublished working papers, and dissertations.
- PAIS International (1972-)
- Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
- New York Times (1851-2004)
- Full-text coverage of the US daily newspaper of record. Offers extensive coverage of national and international politics, world news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Contains extensive daily coverage of business news, industries, economic analysis and publicly traded companies. Weekly features include highlights of recently approved patents, and consumer trends with respect to technological advances. Public policy & public opinions that are published in the "op ed" pages may not always be included in this online version, due to copyright restrictions.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-)
- The daily financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance, businesses, industries and economies, as well as concise coverage of hard news.
- Additional business oriented database from Hatfield Library
- Current listing of all Hatfield Library's subscription datbases that are relevant to Atkinson students or for business research, including research in Psychology (organizational & applied); Public opinion polls; Legislation & public policy; and Interdisciplinary social sciences.
Special Library Resources for PMBA Students
The buttons on the right show if Gary Klein is online right now or not (online indicators are in color, offline indicator are in black & white). If he is available, click on the button matching your IM program to automatically connect to your PMBA Librarian!
![]() |
For AOL Instant Messenger (AIM), the screen name is GaryAtHatHelp
|
![]() |
For Yahoo! Messenger, the screen name is GaryAtHatHelp
|
![]() |
For MSN Messenger, the screen name is GaryAtHatHelp@hotmail.com
|
Need help downloading an Instant Messaging program and getting a screen name? No problem! Just click on one of the icons below to download the free software and get a screen name.
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Users who do not wish to download chat software onto their computers can use web versions of AOL Instant Messenger (AIM Express), Yahoo! Messenger (Yahoo Web Messenger), or MSN Messenger (MSN Web Messenger).
If you would like to secure your instant messaging sessions by encrypting them, try one of the secure instant messaging programs listed at EPIC.org, the Electronic Privacy Information Center
Subject Resources
Special Resources for Atkinson Students
- Resources of the Mark O. Hatfield Library of interest for Atkinson students.
- This site offers access to a campus map, floor plans of the Hatfield Library, pathfinders and other resources for AGSM students.
Career Research Resources
- Snapshot look at corporations, people & industries from HOOVERS DIRECTORIES
- Provided by the Hoover's Directory division of Dun & Bradstreet (several of their published directories are availble at the Hatfield Library). This web site offers brief descriptions of most publicly traded corporations, and growing numbers of private firms. This database was recently expanded to also offer information about People and Industries. Enter either a company or a stock trading ticker symbol and you can obtain a recent snapshot look at a firm, complete with address, phone number, web site, brief statistics, and connections to industrial or competitive information. Some entries also provide listings of subsidiaries or office locations. The amount of information that you can obtain from this web site varies between companies.
Statistical Sources
- Lexis-Nexis Statistical
- This database contains two different systems for accessing statistical resources. Search Table Base provides online access to either full-text, full image, or spreadsheets of 30,000 statistics from a wide variety of U.S. government agencies, business & trade magazines, professional & trade associations and reference sources. The other system is Search Abstracts, which provides bibliographic citations to an even larger number of statistics, but it does not directly display the underlying data. Instead the Abstracts segment will provide links to comprehensive descriptions of the data, which may be owned by the Hatfield Library, or might be available by submitting an Inter Library Loan request form.
- STAT-USA Databases
- This site includes the State of the Nation containing that economic reports released in Washington DC today, and the 50 most frequently followed economic indicators in the USA. You can also access the NTDB / National Trade Data Bank, and the International Trade Library. PLEASE NOTE that access to these services is restricted to members of the Willamette University community.
Stock Markets & Publicly Traded Firms
- Corporate Annual Reports to Shareholders
- AnnualReports.com: Free access to corporate annual reports, prepared for the shareholders of thousands
of publicly traded corporations in North America. These are the online versions of the complete & colorful reports
that are mailed to shareholders. There are 6 ways to search for these reports: alphabetic listings; full company name;
by stock exchange; by stock ticker symbol; with an industry; or within a business sector. Reports may be delivered either
as HTML or PDF documents. Some companies also
provide access to their 10-K reports.
Most annual reports contain very similar information, but stylized uniquely by each corporation. Some of the common components of annual reports are: Letter from the chairman (or CEO) to the shareholders; Financial highlights; Balance sheets; Profit and loss statements; Year in review; Quarterly summary of stock prices & dividend payments; and a Roster of corporate executives and all board members. Corporate annual reports tend to be written from a relatively glossy and "rose colored glasses" perspective of the previous fiscal year.
10-K reports on the other hand are known for their detailed financial reports; significant numbers of footnotes & cautionary statements; lengthy texts that are more legalistic rather than flowery; and potentially juicy tidbits (usually on competition, expansion plans, legal problems, potential liabilities, labor relations, or vendor relations).
PLEASE NOTE: Many annual reports & 10-K reports are delivered as very large files.
- SEC's EDGAR Database
- United States' Securities & Exchange Commission: Access the complete
text of documents filed with the SEC by publicly traded corporations.
PLEASE NOTE: Many of these SEC documents & 10-K reports are delivered as very large files.
- Stock Research Sites on the Web
- If you are looking to conduct research on publicly traded stocks, then this is the web site for you. This site is produced by librarians at the University of Washington in Seattle, and contains evaluations of over 40 free stock research sites on the Web. There has been no attempt to apply any qualitative or quantitative ranking to the sites, rather, this resource lists the major features available from each site, along with some evaluative comments on usability and design. A chart is available to distinguish commonly requested features of the various competitive offerings.
Traditional Subdivisions of Business & Managerial Research
- Accounting & Auditing from the AICPA
- Official documents of the American Institute of Certfied Public Accountants.
- Economics
- Library databases and web resources compiled by Hatfield Library.
- Finance and Financial data finder
- (Ohio State University)
- Working Papers of the Institute for the Study of Business Markets
- Research on business-to-business marketing, from one business or "value chain" to another. (Pennsylvania State University)
- Small Business Administration
- U.S. Department of Commerce's Small Business Administration.
International Business
- World Factbook
- An annual look at every country in the world, in a standardized format with maps, economic & demographic data, and rankings. Also provides images & descriptions of each country's official flag. (compiled and updated throughout the year by the Central Intelligence Agency of the USA).
- National Trade Data Bank
- Provides access to STAT-USA, GLOBUS and the NTDB, (a subscription service produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce's Economics and Statistics Administration). PLEASE NOTE that access to this service is restricted to members of the Willamette University community.
- Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER)
- Produced by Michigan State University. Some of the unique features include Market potential indicators; Government resources offering links to foreign trade & economic development agencies of countries around the globe; Web page listing for stock exchanges around the world; and Current topics section focusing on recent developments & controversies with international trade.
- European Union's official web page
- Offers an explanation of the various commission and affiliates of the European Union. Also offers access to EU's library catalog and publications office.
- Internet Resources for International Economics & Business
- Maintained by Shippensburg University in Pennsylvania this web site offers
connections to a large number of Internet resources, clustered by major categories of International business: Trade; Finance; Development;
Trade Law; Institutions; Statistics and Courses. The web connections are listed,
without any annotations.
Interdisciplinary Sources
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes
- Brief definitions and examples of SIC and NAICS codes.
- United States Treasury
- Auction statistics for Treasury bills, Treasury bonds, and Treasury Notes (since 1985).
- Great Britain's Treasury
- "Her Majestey's Treasury" (various resources).
Nonprofit Organizations
- NonProfit FAQ
- A collection of online resources that provide free, fast and easy access to information on nonprofit organizations. Primary focus is given to the Organization, Management, Regulation, and Development of nonprofit organizations in the US. The secondary focus is providing general resources to exisiting or potential donors & volunteers who would like to get more invovled with helping a nonprofit group. Links are also available to identify job openings, availability of internships, and consultants that focus on serving nonprofits.
- Nonprofit Organizations on the Internet
- Idealist is a project of Action Without Borders providing links to the web pages of over 50,000 nonprofit public-interest organizations in the US.







