- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Gender Studies
Gender Studies
Jump to: Electronic Journals | Information | Organizations
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1984- )
- Provides full text for over 1,250 academic,social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed, and over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- Alternative Press Index (1991- )
- Indexes approximately 250 alternative, radical, and left publications that report on and analyze cultural, economic, political and social change. Ninety percent of the publications indexed are unique to API.
- PsycINFO (1887- )
- Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963- )
- Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes 3 subfiles: Sociological Abstracts, International Review of Publications in Sociology (IRPS), and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts (SOPODA). IRPS provides book abstracts and review citations, and SOPODA focuses on solutions to social problems.
Subject Resources
- Sexual Orientation: Science, Education and Policy
- Resources compiled by the Psychology Department at the University of California at Davis, to help people separate the facts from fiction regarding stigmas & stereotypes about homosexuality, sexual orientation, AIDS, homophobia and hate crimes.
- Homosexuality & Religions
- - A collection of footnoted essays examining how religions respond & react to homosexuality. Contains essays about religions in general, as well as looking at how specific religions address, debate or resolve issues relating to homosexuality. Produced by the Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance, in Kingston, Ontario, Canada.
- Connections to LGB Libraries, Archives and Virtual Research Collections
- Listing of Internet resources compiled by the Gerber/Hart Library & Archives, an all volunteer library located in Chicago, IL.
- ONE Institute: International Gay & Lesbian Archives
- ONE Institute is an independent educational institution, housing a large research library & archival collection on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered heritage and concerns. ONE has been collecting research materials since 1942.
- OutProud
- The full name of this group is OutProud: The National Coalition for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & ransgender Youth which provides online resources & referrals to local support services, thereby helping LGBT youth to become happy and vital adults in their own communities.
- PFLAG: Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
- National non-profit organization with 400 affiliated chapters throughout the world, offering educational and support services to people who need assistance to cope with individual or societal attitudes against lesbians, gays or bisexuals.
- Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation
- GLAAD is a national alliance of regional groups promoting fair, accurate and inclusive representation as a means of challenging discrimination based on sexual orientation or identity. This group organization monitors the media, highlighting actions that either defame or affirm the accurate portrayal of gays, lesbians, bisexuals and transgendered people in America.
- ACLU's Freedom Network / Lesbian & Gay Rights
- American Civil Liberties Union has a long history as a legal advocate in court cases across the USA. This web site highlights those court cases where the ACLU has lent a hand in striving for equality with respect to sexuality or sexual orientation.
- Partners Task Force for Gay & Lesbian Couples
- Provides information, support and advocacy for same-sex couples who are striving for the same rights and privileges that are currently accorded by Federal or State laws exclusively to opposite-sex partners.
- Human Rights Campaign
- An independent political action organization working for lesbian & gay equality, located in Washington DC and registered as a lobbying group.
- National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
- NGLTF strives to build coaltions that support grassroots organizing and advocacy for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights across the USA.

