- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Exercise Science
Exercise Science
Jump to: Anatomy | General | Nutrition | Organizations and Associations | Physical Education and Coaching | Electronic Journals | Physiology | Sports Medicine
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- AccessScience
- Electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Completely searchable.
- Annual Reviews
- Searchable access to the full-text of AR in the biomedical sciences.
- BIOSIS Previews (1995 - )
- Web-based version of Biological Abstracts, plus BA/RRM. Indexes over 7000 journals related to the biological and biomedical sciences, as well as books, proceedings, reports and reviews. Please logoff when finished.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- Provides access to journal and magazine articles, reference materials and reports pertaining to contemporary health issues.
- Medline Plus (1998 - )
- Contains health topics, drug information, medical dictionary, medical directories, and more. It also links to Pubmed (formerly called Medline).
- PubChem
- PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
- PubMed (Formerly Medline)(1966 - )
- Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. PubMed provides links to some full-text articles and related resources. Search for medical journal titles by abbreviations.
- SPORT Discus (1967 - )
- Provides comprehensive, international coverage of sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching and physical education. Materials abstracted include articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and other sources.
- Science Citation Index (1989 - )
- As Web of Science, web-based access to the citation indexes. Includes citation and keyword searching of over 5000 science journals.
Subject Resources
Anatomy
- The e-skeleton Project (National Science Foundation)
- Interactive comparison and examination of the human and gorilla skeletal systems. Requires Quick Time or VRML Player.
- Human Anatomy On-Line (Informative Graphics Corporation)
- Interactive human anatomy tutorial, heavily dependent on Java applets. Contains over 100 images and also includes descriptive links. Excellent resource for classroom presentations.
- Virtual Autopsy 2 (University of Leicester - Department of Pathology)
- Site contains several case studies, with autopsy photographs and patient information. General anatomy and physiology information is also present.
General
- Human Kinetics
- Provides information for faculty, students, and others interested in exercise, fitness, or health. Includes information on related careers and organizations, as well as offering table of contents information from HK journals.
- Sportscience
- A peer-reviewed journal and site that includes information on sports medicine, nutrition and training as well as articles.
- US Army Physical Fitness Research Institute
- Articles and advice on a variety of health and fitness topics.
- On-line Medical Dictionary (CancerWeb)
- This is an electronic dictionary for the medical field, geared toward cancer research, but useful to those in the health sciences. Search by keyword or subject area, browse entries by alphabetically (useful if you don't know the correct spelling), and use other symbols (e.g. numbers within chemical compositions).
Nutrition
- Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center (USDA)
- The links to USDA Nutrition projects are useful. Include nutritional values and average consumption data as well as current research and publications.
- Health Finder (US Department of Health and Human Services)
- Searchable collection of Internet and other resources related to health. Well organized, with a large number of relevant topics from reliable sources.
- WebMD
- WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information. You can trust that our content is timely and credible.
- Nutrition Analysis Tool (University of Illinois)
- Nutrition.gov (Federal Government)
- Internet portal to hundreds of nutrition and health information web sites, which includes statistics, current issues, articles, reports and more. It is searchable via topics or keywords.
- USDA Nutrient DataLaboratory (Version 16) (ARS)
- This site offers a searchable database for nutritional content of over 6,661 different foods, nutrient retension factors, trans fatty acids, flavonoids, Isoflavones, and food composition data for over 110 years.
- The "Virtual" Nutrition Center (Martindale)
- Includes information on metabolic pathways and genetic maps, interactive anatomy browsers, online journals, nutrition literature and patent searches, dictionaries and glossaries, online nutrition calculators, courses, tutorials, and databases.
Organizations & Associations
American Society for Nutritional Sciences
American College of Sports Medicine
- American Fitness Professionals & Associates
- Includes articles and newsletter as well as continuing education opportunities. The professional links andassociations links provide good starting points.
- APA Division 47e
- American Psychological Association division devoted to exercise and sport psychology. Includes current meetings and conferences, sports psychology links and job information.
International Association for Sport Information
International Federation of Sports Medicine
- National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA)
- Includes information on NATA publications (indexed for current two years), careers, university programs, ethics, and research.
Physical Education and Coaching
- Coaching Science Abstracts (University of San Diego)
- Includes citations and informative abstracts that interpret research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science. Issues are thematic.
- PE Central
- Assessment and lesson ideas, job postings, links, products and the NAPSE Listserv
- The President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sport
- Government site to encourage activity and physical fitness. Many good resources for educators and coaches.
- National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NAPSE)
- Includes associations and publications (including national standards) for sports and physical educators.
- Sports Coach
- A collection of coaching and training topics ranging from speed to psychology.
- Sports-Media Lesson Plans
- A-Z Lesson plans for sports and activities.
Physiology
- Interactive Respiratory Physiology (Johns Hopkins)
- Dictionary and encyclopedia are particularly useful. Includes modular tutorials on aspects of respiration.
- Muscle Physiology (University of California San Diego)
- The muscle physiology lab. Includes links, recent conferences and current projects at the lab.
- The Neuromuscular Research Center (Boston University)
- Includes 8 labs that make up the NMRC. Each lab section has current research, multimedia resources and relevant papers. Some parts are under construction.
Sports Medicine
- eSportMed (Human Kinetics)
- Free services include links to conferences and associations, as well as abstracting of International SportMed Journal.
- The Physician and Sports Medicine Online (McGraw-Hill)
- Includes cover story from current month's issue as well as searching capabilities for past issues. The Resource Center has many useful links.
- SportEX
- Includes information from articles recently published in SportEX Health Magazine and SportEX Medicine Journal. Has articles and discussion on a variety of sports related injuries and treatments.
- Sports Science Center (Gatorade Sports Science Institute)
- Contains articles on a variety of sports medical topics by experts in exercise science and sports medicine: hydration, sports nutrition, training and performance, medical conditions and sports injuries, and youth in sports
contact
John RepplingerScience Librarian
503-375-6525
jrepplin@willamette.edu
RefWorks (Citation Helper)
Instant Message

