- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Earth/Environmental Sciences
Earth/Environmental Sciences
Jump to: Associations, Agencies & Programs | Conservation & Natural Resources | Energy & Renewable Resources | Environmental Law & Policy | Environmental Programs & Agencies | Environment & Ecology (General) | Geography | Geology | Global Warming | Meteorology and Climatology | Population Issues | Oceanography | Seismology | Water Resources
Databases (search for articles)
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- Agricola (1970 - )
- Provides access to over 3.5 million citations from scholarly journals, government publications, books, and other documents covering every major agricultural subject. Also useful for forestry, wildlife management, and other applications of the biological sciences.
- BioOne (2000 - )
- Provides access to over 40 interrelated journals focused on the biological, environmental, and ecological sciences.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981 - )
- Provides multidisciplinary coverage of relevant fields across the environmental
sciences. Includes:
- Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current
- ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality 1990-Current
- Ecology Abstracts 1982-Current
- EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements 1985-Current
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts 1990-Current
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts 1981-Current
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) 1982-Current
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 1982-Current
- Pollution Abstracts 1981-Current
- Risk Abstracts 1990-Current
- Toxicology Abstracts 1981-Current
- Water Resources Abstracts 1967-Current
- Environmental Routenet (internet resources)
- Water Resources Routenet (internet resources)
- Environment & Energy Publishing (varies)
- Provides the full text to three separate environmental and energy related publications: Environment & Energy Daily (E&E Daily) tracks environmental and energy issues in Congress. Greenwire, published daily, provides information on major environmental and energy activities. Land Letter provides an in-depth look at regulation, litigation and legislation surrounding natural resources issues.
- GeoBASE (1980 - )
- Provides access to the literature of geology, geography, ecology, and human geography.
- GeoRef (1785 - )
- Provides access literature of the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present, including the publications of the USGS.
- Geoscienceworld (varies)
- This database sponsored by various professional organizations and institutions indexes 37 of the top earth science journals, and includes the journals' tables of contents. The literature it indexes includes non-GeoRef information.
- Science Citation Index (1989 - )
- Web-based access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Includes citation and keyword searching of over 8000 journals.
- SciFinder
- SciFinder indexes chemical literature in various fields of study such as biology, chemistry, geoscience, physics, engineering, agriculture, medicine, life sciences, etc. It consists of citations, abstracts, and the citation analyses of the Chemical Abstracts Services (CAS) and the medical literature of PubMed (Medline). It covers over 8,000 journals, 19.6 million documents, and 32 million unique chemical substances. It also links to the full text of articles when they are available.
- ***Note: A SciFinder account is required before using it. Contact the Science Librarian, John Repplinger, for assistance (jrepplin@willamette.edu, 503-370-6525).
- Environment & Energy Publishing (varies)
- Provides the full text to three separate environmental and energy related publications: Environment & Energy Daily (E&E Daily) tracks environmental and energy issues in Congress. Greenwire, published daily, provides information on major environmental and energy activities. Land Letter provides an in-depth look at regulation, litigation and legislation surrounding natural resources issues.
- LexisNexis Congressional (1976- )
- Indexes and abstracts U.S. Congressional publications,including reports, prints, hearings, and legislative histories. Includes full text of many laws, bills, hearing testimony, regulations, Congressional reports, and news stories related to Congress.
- LexisNexis State Capitol (1976- )
- Provides access to current state government information, including legislation, statutes, regulations, policy brief and news, and directories. Search options include the ability to search for information about one state, any combination of states, or all 50 states.
- Monthly Catalog (1976- )
- An index to all the federal government publications distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program.
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- LexisNexis Academic
- A collection of full-text information sources that includes coverage of general news sources, federal case law, and other government and political news.
- Oregon Index (1984 - )
- Selectively indexes articles on local and regional topics from the following Oregon newspapers: The Oregonian, Salem Statesman Journal, Eugene Register Guard, Coos Bay World, Corvallis Gazette Times, Klamath Falls Herald & News, The LaGrande Observer, and Willamette Week.
- Oregonian Index (1984 - )
- Provides full-text coverage of the Oregonian.
- Anthropological Literature (1984 - )
- Describes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
- BIOSIS Previews (1995 - )
- Web-based version of Biological Abstracts, plus BA/RRM. Indexes over 7000 journals related to the biological and biomedical sciences, as well as books, proceedings, reports and reviews. Please logoff when finished.
- EconLit (1969- )
- Provides access to 400 scholarly journals of economics, business economics, social economics, income distributions, and monetary controls from around the world. Covers both theoretical and applied aspects of economics and allied disciplines from the social sciences. Also includes book reviews, essays from multi-author books, unpublished working papers, and dissertations.
- ERIC (1966- )
- Covers journal and research literature in the field of education. Includes two files: Research in Education (RIE), which indexes and abstracts the miscellaneous education literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), which indexes and abstracts over 775 periodicals.
- Ingenta (1988 - )
- Provides title keyword access to approximately 17,000 journals. Very strong in the sciences.
- LexisNexis Statistical
- Index and detailed abstracts to statistical publications produced by the U.S. Federal Government and selected State and Private sources. Links to the full text of some publications are provided starting in 1995. Covers U.S. Federal Statistics, 1973- and State and Private Sources Statistics, 1980-.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963- )
- Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Subject Resources
Associations, Agencies & Programs
- Scholarly and Professional Earth Science Societies
- A list of webpages and gophers affiliated with societies and associations important to earth scientists.
- Environment Canada's Green Lane
- An Internet resource for weather and environmental information in Canada. Green Lane TM helps connect Canadians, exchange information and share knowledge for environmental decision-making (Canada's EPA).
- EcoNet
- Includes the EcoNet Issue Resource Center (environmental resources by subject), a directory of environmental organizations on the web, and a link to EcoNet's Environment Gopher (news and information about current projects).
- Endangered Species Program (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
- Well done site containing program information and species lists, policy documents, and photos and reports.
- Environmental and Societal Impacts Group
- Contains information and links concerning the relationship between society and the environment.
- Environmental Protection Agency
- Provides public access to EPA information. Sites of note include Envirofacts (EPA data warehouse), and the Government Information Locator Service.
- FAO Forestry (United Nations)
- A good beginning resource to research international forestry, particularly in developing countries. Includes forest resources, management, production and services, assessment and monitoring, people and forests, sector analysis, institutions, and interdisciplinary issues.
- United Nations Environmental Programme
- Contains links to a number of UN sponsored programs related to the environment and sustainable development.
- National Environmental Directory
- This listing of more than 13,000 environmental organizations is searchable by name, city, state, zip code, subject area, and by key terms. Useful for identifying information on environmental organizations.
Conservation and Natural Resources
- Chesapeake Bay Trust
- Contains information about the Chesapeake Bay Restoration Project.
- Conservation Databases (World Conservation Monitoring Centre)
- Provides access to five searchable databases (plants and animals, protected areas of the world, forest statistics and maps, marine statistics and maps, and national biodiversity profiles).
- RadWaste (Waste Links)
- This searchable site contains more than 8,000 links related to radioactive waste management. The content varies from government information on agencies, laws & regulations, technical reports, news, etc.
- State of the World's Forests, 1999 (FAO)
- The full text (in Adobe Acrobat) of the FAO report. Take a look at FAO's World Agriculture Information Centre.
- Status and Trends of the Nation's Biological Resources
- Web-based version of a wonderful publication by the USGS (which is in our Reference area, QH104 .S74 1997 v.1 & 2). Contains information on "the health of the nation's plants, animals, and ecosystems ...It synthesizes existing and new information about birds, mammals, fishes, plants, and other species and summarizes what is known about the status and trends of major U.S. ecosystems. The findings reported here offer valuable insight into both successes and failures in resource management and point the way to better management of biological resources in the future."
Electronic Journals
Energy & Renewable Resources
- DOE Information Bridge
- Provides access to citations for DOE technical reports from January 1, 1994 to present. The database is searchable by title, author, keyword, subject category and date of publication. Citations include a brief abstract and ordering information.
- Electric Ideas Clearinghouse (EICBBS)
- A bulletin board that provides a forum for information exchange in the areas of energy and the environment.
- EnergyFiles: Energy Science and Technology (OSTI)
- over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences. By the Office of Scientific & Technical Information.
Environmental Law & Policy
- Congressional Research Service Reports
- The NLE currently posts 2137 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics. This site is maintained by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
- Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network
- Provides access to information useful for researchers, policy makers and the general public in the area of global environmental change.
- New Ideas in Pollution Regulation
- Deals with "public policy issues relating to the cost-effective control of pollution in developing countries". Contains working papers, data and other resources.
Environment & Ecology (General)
- Biosphere 2
- Provides access to information on the Biosphere 2 Project, including sensor data and a "cybertour".
- Encyclopedia of the Atmospheric Environment
- The Encyclopedia is a one-stop source of information on a range of atmospheric issues, including air quality, acid rain, global warming and ozone depletion. It is searchable and free to use.
- EnviroLink
- A large, well-organized collection of links to environmental resources on the web.
- Fire Effects Information System (USDA/Forest Service)
- Yet another example of how well the government is utilizing the Internet to disseminate information! This site has information (including fire ecology, fire effects, distribution and other general ecological information) for hundreds of species of plants and animals. Also includes an extensive list of references. Easy to navigate and use.
- Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network
- Provides background on the network, as well as to information gathered via the network and the research sites.
Geography
- Color Landform Atlas of the United States
- Sports shaded relief maps, county maps, satellite images and a postscript map for each state.
- GEODE (USGS)
- Includes national and international datasets and maps on a wide range of topics; it includes demographics, environmental info, energy and mineral resources, cultural features, agriculture, meteorology and natural hazards, and MUCH more.
- Geographic Names Information System
- Contains information about geographic features in the United States. Includes feature name, type, location (including latitude, longitude and elevation), and a list of topographic maps. Also links to the Census Bureau's Tiger Map Server for location and the EPA's site for watershed information on each feature.
- Illustrated Glossary of Alpine Glacial Landforms
- Terms that are commonly associated to Alpine Glacial Landforms are defined, and include images and the occassional map.
- TIGER Mapping Service
- Sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of the Census, this service allows access to "high-quality, detailed maps of anywhere in the United States, using public geographic data".
Geology
- ANON: Another Node on the Internet
- For geosciences, mathematics and computing. Includes the Virtual Geosciences Professor, applications for macintosh computers, and links to Computing & Geosciences.
- Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network
- Here you can search the CIESIN Gateway, access data (China Data Collection, Environmental Treaty Texts the Global Population Database and the Mexico Data Collection), use interactive applications, access information systems and instructional resources, all related to earth science.
- Electronic Volcano
- Provides access to "materials on active volcanoes worldwide, such as maps, photographs and full texts of dissertations and a few elusive documents."
- Global Change Data and Information System
- "A collection of distributed information systems operated by government agencies involved in global change research." Includes data centers, educational resources, research projects and documents.
- Global Change Master Directory
- Provides access to over 3,900 data sets in the area of earth science, including atmosphere, biosphere, land surface, solid earth, and human dimensions of climate change.
- National Geophysical Data Center (NOAA)
- Includes satellite data and information and links for glaciology, marine geology, geophysics and paleoclimatology. Also includes links to Science for Society and NGDC contacts.
- U. S. Geological Survey
- Contains information about the USGS, including history, contacts, grant and contracts, customer service reports, fact sheets, publications and data. Includes links to other USGS sites (e.i. geology, biology, natural resources, mapping and water resources).
Global Warming
- Global Climate Change: Exploratorium
- Covers information that reflect global change in the atmosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere. The material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation.
- Global Warming (EPA)
- This excellent site contains information on global warming, climatic change and the greenhouse effect.
- Greenhouse Gas Online: All About Greenhouse Gas Science (University of Edinburgh)
- Provides incisive summaries of current events and issues related to the Greenhouse Effect, such as global warming, sources of greenhouse gases, carbon dioxide sinks, sunspots, and international agreements.
Meteorology and Climatology
- National Geophysical Data Center (NOAA)
- Contains satellite data and information and links for glaciology, marine geology, geophysics and paleoclimatology. Also includes links to Science for Society and NGDC contacts.
Population Issues
- State of the World's Children (UNICEF)
- Although the main topic of this site is nutrition and malnutrition, there is also a treatment of population issues and how they effect world hunger.
- World Food Summit (UN FAO)
- Provides access to the report and other documents of the World Food Summit, held in 1996 in response to widespread undernutrition and growing concern about the capacity of agriculture to meet future food needs.
Oceanography
- Ocean Information Center (U. of Delaware)
- Contains links to and information on the World Ocean Circulation Experiment (WOCE), the TOGA - Coupled Ocean-Atmosphere Response Experiment and research ship information and schedules, as well as other oceanographic information sources
Seismology
- Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center
- Provides access to EQIIS (image database), earthquake engineering abstracts, and engineering reports and publications. Headquartered at the University of California at Berkeley.
- Earthquake Information (USGS)
- Includes the information about recent quakes, suggestions for preparedness and potential hazards, general information about earthquakes, and educational resources.
- Southern California Earthquake Center (NSF)
- Wonderful site! Provides access to information and research conducted by the center.
Water Resources
- American Rivers
- Colorful, highly detailed and easily navigated, this site provides information on national river conservation and management.
- Colorado River: Have You Ever Seen a River That Stops for a Border?
- "Teaches about the Colorado River Delta, the story of water in the lower Colorado River, and what needs to happen to preserve this haven for wildlife."
- Environmental Impact Analysis Data Links
- "This page was compiled to provide environmental professionals a source for online environmental datasets." A very well developed and annotated collection of resources!
- International Water Law Project
- Contains information on international "access to and maintenance of water sources."
- Selected Water Resources A bstracts
- Searchable compilation of citations from 1939 to present.
- State of Oregon Water Resources Department
- Contains information on the Oregon Water Resources Commission, water law, water rights, monitoring, ground water and WRD publications.
- Surf Your Watershed
- Provides access to watershed data...Locate Your Watershed is a searable collection of information and data.
- USGS Water Resources Information
- Provides access to USGS water resources published information, such as the National Water-Quality Assessment (NAWQA) Program which specifically covers the Willamette Valley Basin. Includes real time data on stream flow, drought, water quality, ground water, and more
- USGS Water Resources for Oregon
- Includes fact sheets, home pages for active projects and the Hydrologic Data Program (surface-water information, including: latest readings from selected stream-gaging sites, historical data from all active and discontinued stream gages, and peak flow data). Also has a personnel directory, and links to publications (Oregon Water Resources Reports and TWRIs).
- Watershed Management Council
- A non-profit educational organization dedicated to the advancement of the art and science of watershed management. Contains links about the organization, as well as sections for recommended watershed terminology and other earth science related links.
- Water Resources of the United States (USGS)
- Links to regional and state offices and contacts, national and international programs, and educational resources. Also contains, factsheets, data (hydrolic, water use, spatial, and surface-water) and software.
contact
John RepplingerScience Librarian
503-375-6525
jrepplin@willamette.edu
RefWorks (Citation Helper)
Instant Message

