Economics
Library-supported Databases
- Business Source Premier
(1984- )
- Provides full text articles from over 1,100 peer reviewed academic/scholarly journals & over 1,100 trade/industry magazines in Economics, business and management. This database also provides full text access to: country reports from around the globe, over 11,000 SWOT analyses, over 6,000 market research reports, over 4,000 industry reports, and 140 reference books. It also offers indexing & abstracting of approximately 800 other periodical titles. All articles are in English.
- EconLit (1969- )
- Provides access to 400 scholarly journals of economics, business economics, social
economics, income distributions, and monetary controls from around the world. Covers both
theoretical and applied aspects of economics and allied disciplines from the social
sciences. Also includes book reviews, essays from multi-author books, unpublished working
papers, and dissertations.
- STAT-USA and NTDB = National Trade Data Bank
- (U.S. Department of Commerce, DC) - Contains a variety of business, trade and economic information compiled by over 50 Federal Agencies. Some of the groups of information that are only available from STAT-USA include NTDB: National Trade Data Bank, BEA: Bureau of Economic Analysis, the last two years
of the monthly publication Survey of Current Business, the full text and all appendices for the Economic Report of the President, as well as various supplements and historical tables for the Budget of the United States Government for Fiscal Year 1997. PLEASE NOTE that access to these services is restricted to members of the Willamette University community
- Academic Search Premier
(1984- )
- Provides full text articles from over 3,600 academic/scholarly journals & over 800 magazines in: Social sciences, Humanities, General science, Life sciences, Engineering, Education, as well as multi-cultural and inter-disciplinary publications. It also offers indexing and abstracts for an additional 3,200 journal titles. All articles are in English. However, if you are looking for articles covering the fields of either Business, Economics or Management, then you should be using the Business Source Premier database instead.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
- Provides access to full-text information from over 4,000 sources including a wide variety of daily newspapers, popular magazines, business & trade magazines, news wire services, transcripts of selected television news programs and national polling services. The particular strength of this database lies in its extensive coverage of general news (from the USA and around the world); business news (both company specific and industry specific); and obituaries.
- Business Dateline
(1985- )
- This resource focuses on local, regional and statewide business magazines & newspapers from across the USA. More than 150 regional sources are currently indexed & abstracted by this database. In order to search by SIC or NAICS code you have to use the pull down menu to change from "keyword" searching to "standard industrial code" searching. You can also search for industry information using keyword phrases or subject headings. All articles are in English. The majority of articles abstracted in this database are only available to Willamette University cardholders who have Inter Library Loan privileges.
- PAIS International (1972-
)
- Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public
administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations,
political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine
and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and
statistical directories.
-
Additional economics oriented database from Hatfield Library
- Current listing of all Hatfield Library's subscription datbases that are relevant to Economics students
including research in
Business & management; Psychology (organizational & applied); Public opinion polls;
Legislation & public policy; and Interdisciplinary social sciences.
Economics & Statistical Resources
To create spreadsheets, often times you will need to download data using the CSV
format option, then saving it to an interim file via NOTEPAD, and then using
EXCEL to open the comma delimited document, before you can re-save the downloaded
data into the XLS format.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis - an agency of the U.S. Department
of Commerce
- The BEA compiles three major types of statistics: "The national economic accounts provide a quantitative view of the production, distribution, and use of the Nation's output; one of the most widely known measures is gross domestic product (GDP). BEA also prepares estimates of the Nation's tangible wealth and input-output tables that show how industries interact. The regional economic accounts provide estimates, analyses, and projections of personal income, population, and employment for regions, States, metropolitan areas, and counties. BEA also prepares estimates of gross state product. The international economic accounts encompass the international transactions accounts (balance of payments) and the estimates of U.S. direct investment abroad and foreign direct investment in the United States."
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor, DC)
- Bureau of Labor Statistics is the arm of the United States Government that compiles some of the most widely followed statistical measures of the American economy. Some of the BLS's most prominent economic indicators that are available from this resource include the CPI: Consumer Price Index, the PPI: Producer Price Index, the National Unemployment rate, the Industry Labor Productivity Index, and
International Labor Statistics. This collection of statistical reports is compiled and distributed by the
BLS, on their own computers in Washington DC. This user friendly collection includes a variety of help screens
for producing customized reports from their time series data files.
- EPI's DataZone and DataCard (Economic Policy Institute)
- DataZone contains US historical economic data fousing on Wage & Compensation trends; Family Earnings trends,
the Consumer Price Index; National Employment statistics, and Employment Statistics by Census Divisions. DataCard offers a snapshot look at Recent national economic statistics for USA.
- Federal Reserve Board of Governors - Statististical Releases & Historical Data
- A collection of currenly compiled national level statistics on banking
& economics, including: Interest rates, Foreign exchange rates, Money
supply and Loan delinquencies.
- FRED® - Federal Reserve
Economic Data - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- An excellent source for over 3,000 time series financial or macro-economic
data. Although the name and format appear to be similar to the statistical
data provided by the Federal Reserve Board, this compilation provides access
to much more detail, and goes back many years. Some statistical series in
FRED® start more than 60 years ago.
- ALFRED®
- ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- This is the archival component of FRED® where you can retrieve
vintage of data that were available on specific dates in history. Currently,
vintage data are available for 341 series in 6 FRED® categories.
As of Feburary 2006, the earliest vintage available is 1996-01-17.
- FRASER - Federal Reserve
Archival System for Economic Research - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- This contains scanned images (in Adobe® Acrobat® PDF format) of
historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents compiled
by the Federal Reserve System / Federal Reserve Board. Some of the items
available from FRASER include "All Bank Statistics Report"
(1896-1955); "Banking and Monetary Statistics" (1941-1970); "Business
Conditions Digest" (1968-1989); "Business Statistics - supplement
to the Survey of Current Business" (1932-1965); "Economic Indicators"
(1948-2005); "Economic Report of the President" (1950-1995); "Survey
of Current Business" (1925-1982); and "Productivity and Costs"
(1985-2003).
- IES (International
Economic Statistics) Database - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- An online directory pointing you towards sources of statistical informaiton
of 100+ countries, and 200+ official goverment agencies from around the
world. Each entry in the IES database includes countries covered, name of
the statistics included, the agency that compiles it, the earliest year
covered, and the different formats for extracting the data. Each entry also
has a URL connecting you to the ultimate online source.
- Liber8 - Economic
Information Portal for Librarians & Students - Federal Reserve Bank
of St. Louis
- Connects students with recent research & the latest economic indicators
used by the FRS, broken down into three major sections: International, National
and Regional. Also provides links to glossary of ecnomic terms used by the
Federal Reserve, as well as an online directory of economic research published
by various units of the FRS.
- Penn World Trade Database:
- University of Pennsylvania's Center for International Comparisons
- Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted
to international prices for 168 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2000.
The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and
real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank. Makes current
price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
- Total Economy
- Groningen Growth & Development Centre at the University of Groningen
- Data from over 100 countries, starting as early as 1950. Primary focus is on: Real Gross Domestic Product;
GDP per capita; GDP per person engaged; GDP per hour; Population; Emplyoment; and Annual working hours.
Although this data is distributed by the GGDC, it is produced jointly by the Conference Board and the GGDC.
- 60 Industry Database
- Groningen Growth & Development Centre at the University of Groningen
- Data on industrial performance during the years 1973-2003 for Taiwan and OECD member countries. Contains country
level aggregate data, as well as for specific industry groups. Although some specific industry groups are not detailed,
they are included within each country's total results for each year.
- Industry Growth Accounting Database
- Groningen Growth & Development Centre at the University of Groningen
- Data sets since 1980 focusing on labor skills; ICT & non-ICT capital services; as well as estimates of output & labor input
for 7 countries: Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Netherlands, UK, and USA.
- Congressional Budget Office - U.S. Congress
- "The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) was created by the Congressional Budget
and Impoundment Control Act of 1974. CBO's mission is to provide the Congress with objective,
timely, nonpartisan analyses needed for economic and budget decisions and with the information and
estimates required for the Congressional budget process."
- National Bureau of Economic Research
- The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is a private non-profit sponsor of research and conferences
in economics and finance founded in 1920 and devoted to objective quantitative analysis of the American Economy.
- History of Economic Thought
- Developed by graduate students at the New School for Social Research's Department of Economics. The primary feature is an alphabetical listing of over 500 economists linked to brief biographies and bibliographies of their notable works.
- EconWPA = Economic Working Papers
Archive (Washington University in St. Louis)
- This web site provides abstracts and full text of working papers in all areas of economics, including management-related topics. Organized by the JEL classification categories, this service is "devoted to giving interactive access to the electronic working papers that have been posted."
- Economic Reporting Review (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting)
- FAIR is a national media watch dog group. ERR provides weekly analysis of economic matters that were
published in the New York Times or in the Washington Post. Since its founding in 1999, all of the analysis in ERR has been authored by only one economist. However, this site can provide an alternative perspective in analyzing national economic matters.
- Internet Resources for International Economics & Business
(Shippensburg University in Pennsylvania)
- This web site offers connections to a large number of Internet resources, clustered by major categories: International Trade; Int. Finance; Int. Development; Int. Trade Law; Int. Business; Int. Accounting; and Int. Marketing. The web connections are listed, without any annotations.
Updated September 7, 2007
contact:
Gary Klein
Management & Economics Librarian
503-370-6743