- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Computer Science
Computer Science
Jump to: Associations | Biography | Computer-Generated Graphics | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Human-Computer Interactions | Programming
Library-supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- ACM's Digital Library
- Contains searchable and browseable access to ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
- AccessScience
- Electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Completely searchable.
- Computer Source: Consumer Edition
- Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
- Institute of Physics Electronic Journals (1975- )
- Full-text access (1993- ) to all IOP journals. Also includes a search option.
- PsycINFO
- Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
- ResearchIndex
- A product of an ACI system that claims to provide access and organize the scientific literature on the web.
- Science Citation Index (1989- )
- As Web of Science, web-based access to the citation indexes. Includes citation and keyword searching of over 5000 science journals.
Associations
- Association for Computing Machinery
- A great site, not only for information about the Association, but also has quite a bit of information useful for students (including a Graduate Assistantship Directory and a list of Internship Opportunities). Also, take a look at the Special Interest Groups (SIGs), the real meat of ACM.
Biography
- Women in Computing
- From ACM's Committee on Women in Computing. Provides access to over 275 articles related to women or gender issues and computing. Searchable by name, keyword, or journal or conference. Articles can also be added by the user.
Computer-Generated Graphics
- Grafica Obscura
- Put together by Paul Haeberli of Silicon Graphics. A self-proclaimed "evolving computer graphics notebook...a compilation of technical notes, pictures and essays that I've accumulated over the years." Some interesting samples and notes.
- Ray Tracing News Guide (ACM)
- There are quite a few interesting sites on ray tracing out there. This site not only has quite a bt of buzz about the art, but also provides links to quite a few interesting projects.
- SIGGRAPH (ACM)
- ACM's Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques. Contains information about the group, as well as publications, etc. Also includes graphbib, "a database of references to published content in the field of computer graphics and and interactive techniques" and some great web-based tutorials.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of PC Hardware and Data Communications Terms
- Provides descriptions of terminology related to personal computers and networks. Includes common terms as well as some more esoteric jargon.
- TechWeb
- Contains definitions to over 20,000 information technology terms.
- Webopedia
- Not just another web-based technology dictionary. Includes some very interesting jargon (such as "moved to Atlanta").
Human-Computer Interactions
- HCI Bibliography
- Collection of resources (vast...Over 23,000 records) in print and electronically related to HCI and interface design. Searchable and browseable.
Programming
- Java (Sun)
- There isn't much that need be said about "the" Java site. My favorite part is the Java Tutorial, but that is just the tip of the iceberg as far as content goes.
- Javascript Source
- Excellent starting point for "cut-and-paste" scripts.

