- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Chemistry
Chemistry
Jump to: Browsing for Books | Databases (Searching for Articles) | Journal Titles | Reference Works | Useful Web Sites
Databases (search for articles)
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- ACS Journals
- Searchable access to the full-text of ACS electronic subscriptions.
- Annual Reviews
- Searchable access to the full-text of AR in the physical and biomedical sciences.
- BIOSIS Previews (1995 - )
- Web-based version of Biological Abstracts, plus BA/RRM. Indexes over 7000 journals related to the biological and biomedical sciences, as well as books, proceedings, reports and reviews.
- PubChem
- PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981 - )
- Provides multidisciplinary coverage of relevant fields across the environmental sciences. Includes:
- Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current
- ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality 1990-Current
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts 1990-Current
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts 1981-Current
- Pollution Abstracts 1981-Current
- Risk Abstracts 1990-Current
- Toxicology Abstracts 1981-Current
- PubMed (1966 - )
- Provides access to over 15 million article citations in medicine nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and preclinical sciences. View journal title abbreviations in PubMed by clicking here. It is also searchable in the Ovid database and the SciFinder Scholar database.
- Science Citation Index (1989 - )
- As Web of Science, this database allows access to the citation indexes to almost 6,000 science journals from 1989 to date. This database is one of the only databases that can identify the citation history for individual articles and authors. The "related records" will automatically rank articles that share the most cited references in their reference list. Some links connect to full text articles.
- SciFinder Scholar 2001
- This resource searches information produced by the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS), and covers over 8,000 journals, 19.6 million documents, and 32 million unique chemical substances. It includes chemical information in biology, chemistry, geoscience, physics, engineering, agriculture, medicine, and the general life sciences.
- *Note: This database can be accessed through the computer labs at Olin 326,
Collins 407, Smullin 119, and all Hatfield Library PCs.
Go to Start > Programs > SciFinder Scholar.
Journal Titles
- Search for Journal Titles
- Search for specific journals in Willamette's catalog to see if we own specific titles or have electronic access to it.
- Open Access Journals
- Search free, full text articles in over 1150 quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It is browsable by subject.
- E-Journals
-
Accounts of Chemical Research (1968-date)
ACS Journals (1997-date) 28 journals published by the American Chemical Society
Annual Review of Physical Chemistry (1950-date)
Annual Reviews Browse or search 30 physical and biomedical review journals. These annual review articles are available in full text.
Biochemistry (1962-date)
Chemical and Engineering News (1998-date)
Chemical Communications (1997-date)
Chemical Reviews (1924-date)
Chemical Society Reviews (1998-date)
Chemistry of Materials (1989-date)
Environment (1975-date)
Environmental Science and Technology (1967-date)
Journal of Biological Chemistry (1995-date)
Journal of Chemical Education (1996-date)
Journal of Chemical Physics (1985-date)
Journal of Chemical Information and Computer Science (1975-date)
Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data (1959-date)
Journal of Organic Chemistry (1936-date)
Journal of Physical Chemistry (1896-1996)
Journal of Physical Chemistry. A, Molecules, Spectroscopy, Kinetics, Environment, & General Theory (1997-date)
Journal of Physical Chemistry. B, Materials, Surfaces, Interfaces, & Biophysical (1997-date)
Journal of the American Chemical Society (1879-date)
Nature (1997-date, except last year)
Organometallics (1982-date)
Science (1880-date, except last 6 yrs)
- Print Journals (Shelved alphabetically in Periodicals collection)
- Accounts of Chemical Research (1968-date)
- Advances in Inorganic Chemistry (1987-date)
- Analytical Chemistry (1947-date)
- Annual Review of Biochemistry (1975-date)
- Annual Review of Physical Chemistry (1958-date)
- Biochemistry (1965-date)
- Chemical Communications (1972-date)
- Chemical Engineering News (1986-date)
- Chemical Reviews (1929-date)
- Chemical Society Review (1972-date)
- Environment (1969-date)
- Environmental Science and Technology (1967-date)
- Journal of Biological Chemistry (1944-date)
- Journal of Chemical Education (1928-date)
- Journal of Chemical Physics (1948-date)
- Journal of Organic Chemistry (1962-date)
- Journal of Physical Chemistry (1953-1996)
- Journal of Physical Chemistry. A, Molecules, Spectroscopy, Kinetics, Environment, & General Theory (1997-date)
- Journal of Physical Chemistry. B, Materials, Surfaces, Interfaces, & Biophysical (1997-date)
- Journal of the American Chemical Society (1909-date)
- Nature (1931-date)
- Organic Reactions (1942-date)
- Science (1916-date)
Reference Works
- AccessScience. (Online)
- Searchable electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
- The Aldrich Library of...
- The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra (Ref QD96.F68 P67 1993)
- The Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra (Ref QD96.I5 P66 1985)
- The Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra (Ref QD96.I5 P67 1981)
- The Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra (Ref QD96.N8 P68 1974)
- Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry. (Ref QD4.A2313 1994)
- Provides brief definitions and short background articles on topics in the field, including general, inorganic, organic, physical and technical chemistry. There is another concise encyclopedia covering biochemistry and molecular biology available at Ref QD415.A B713 1997.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. (Ref QD65.H3 2004)
- A standard reference book packed with quality data, facts, statistics, experimental findings for chemistry and physics.
- A Dictionary of Scientists. (Ebook that requires that you establish a free netLibrary account)
- This resource spans covers various science disciplines, including physics, astronomy, ecology, mathematics and technology. It also features all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine.
- Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. 8 vols. (Ref QD77.E53 1995)
- Comprehensive coverage of over 3000 reagents in alphabetical order. Volume number 8 of the set contains a subject index, formula index, reagents structural class index, and reagent function index. Each article includes ring diagrams and a bibliography of research sources.
- How to Find Chemical Information. (Ref QD8.5.M34 1998)
- Serves as a guide to choice chemical information sources in both electronic or printed form.
- Lange's Handbook of Chemistry. (Ref QD65.L36 1999)
- Revered as THE standard reference for chemists for more than 60 years, Lange's provides an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry. 4 vols. (Ref QD4.M33 1997)
- Covers a broad range of topics in roughly 700 substantial articles written for a wide audience. It includes various subdisciplines and branches of chemistry as well as key ideas and figures.
Browse for Books
- The Hatfield Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize the material it owns. This means that books with similar subjects will be grouped together, which makes the books browsable. Below is an outline of some subjects in the field of chemistry and their call numbers.
- QD Chemistry
- 71-142 Analytical Chemistry
- 146-197 Inorganic Chemistry
- 241-441 Organic Chemistry
- 450-731 Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
- QH Biology
- QP Physiology
- 351-495 Neurophysiology
- R Medicine
- RM Pharmacology
- TP Chemical Technology
Useful Web Sites
Associations | Biochemistry | Chemical Safety | Chemistry (General) | Educational Resources | Environmental Chemistry & Toxicology | Inorganic Chemistry | Jobs & Internships | Spectra | Organic Chemistry | Physical Chemistry
Associations
- American Chemical Society (ACS)
Biochemical Society
Electrochemical Society
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
Biochemistry
- Amino Acids
- Provides info on amino acid linear structure, CAS Registry number, molecular formula, and more.
- Agricultural Biotechnology (AgNIC)
- Guide to quality agricultural biotechnology information on the Internet, hosted by the University of Maryland.
- Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online
- Searchable glossary with short definitions to thousands of biochem and molecular biology terms.
- ExPASy Molecular Biology Server
- ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) analysizes protein sequences and structures. It provides citations, 3-D color images of protein sequences & enzymes, and links to other molecular biology sites.
- SCOP: Structural Classification of Proteins
- Describes "structural and evolutionary relationships of all known protein structures." Organized by class, fold, superfamily, family and species.
Chemical Safety
- Chemical Safety Bibliography (University of Chicago)
- Provides a comprehensive list of chemical safety information that includes MSDSs, safety measures, laws, safety data, and more.
- Where to find MSDS on the Internet
- A list of over 100 commercial, government & academic sites that provide
access to MSDS's.
- National Toxicology Program
- Contains testing information, publications, health and safety information, and participating agencies.
Chemistry (General Resources)
- Acronyms and Abbreviations Database (Indiana University)
- This database aids in find the meaning of individual acronyms, and is searchable by acronym or keywords.
- ChemDex
- A chemistry directory maintained by the University of Sheffield.
- ChemFinder
- Accessible by common or chemical name, molecular weight, molecular formula, evaporation rate, structure, or CAS registry number. Information includes melting, boiling and flash points, solubility, vapor density, structure, and more.
- ChemWeb
- ChemWeb.com is a unique resource which combines a huge range of information in research chemistry, chemicals industries and related disciplines. Members can access over 350 journals, and membership is free.
- Chemical Information Sources (Indiana University)
- An excellent, well organized collection of chemistry resources, electronic and print.
- Chemistry Web Book (NIST)
- A database full of thermodynamic and ion-energetics info that is searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.
- MSDS -- Where to Find MSDS on the Internet
- Includes a list of over 85 commercial, government & academic sites that
provide access to Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS).
- Periodic Table -- Web Elements
- A periodic table that contains links to data for the first 112 elements, including links to publications, posters, and nomenclature.
- SOLV-DB
- Information on commercially available solvents: health and safety considerations, chemical and physical data, regulatory responsibilities, environmental fate data, and manufacturer information.
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: Chemistry
- Contains links to academic institutions, non-profit and commercial organizations, chemistry software and specialty ads, chemical industry consultants, publications, employment opportunities and announcements.
Educational Resources
- Chemical Education Resource Shelf
- Contains links to publishers who maintain Web pages, and many links to pages devoted to individual titles; additionally, the online version includes citations and links to reviews. Also includes "Hal's Picks of the Month," recommendations of books and recent articles for teachers of chemistry and related sciences.
- Chemical of the Week
- "In his General Chemistry courses, Prof. Shakhashiri distributes a weekly fact sheet about a chemical or type of chemical to increase students' knowledge about chemicals, their production, cost, and uses."
- Virtual Classroom
- Covers materials for chemistry courses taught at University of Akron, and outlines basic information for graduate level classes.
Environmental Chemistry & Toxicology
- Enviromapper
- Access to maps and information on issues of environmental importance: drinking water, superfund sites, hazardous waste, etc.
- EXTOXNET (EXtension TOXicology NETwork)
- Information on pesticide toxicology and environmental chemistry, including discussions of toxicological issues of concern (TICs), newsletters, fact sheets, Pesticide Information Profiles (PIPs), Toxicology Information Briefs (TIBs), and more.
- Center for the Study of Carbon Dioxide and Global Change
- Contains scientific information pertaining to the effects of atmospheric CO2 enrichment on climate and the biosphere.
Inorganic Chemistry
Jobs & Internships
- Chemjobs.net
- A job vacancy site for chemists, biochemists, pharmaceutical scientists and chemical engineers. Sign-up for a weekly e-mail summary of vacancies corresponding to your interests, browse listings or search by keyword. It includes a listing of articles on interview and resume writing techniques.
- Top U.S. Chemical Companies (SUNY Oneonta)
- Provides quick references to the web sites of top Industrial Chemical companies and careers, with an emphasis on companies with ties to the U.S.
- Chemistry Job Tips for Chem Majors (SUNY Oneonta)
- Includes how to developing a strategy for a job search, part and full-time job listings for chemistry and other sciences, as well as general employment sources.
Spectra
- WebSpectra: Problems in NMR and IR Spectroscopy
- Seachable collection of NMR and IR spectroscopy problems.
Organic Chemistry
- Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
- Contains spectra (mass, NMR, and infrared) for over 30,000 compounds. Searchable by compound names, formula, mw, and registry number.
- Organic Chemical Reactions (University of Texas-Austin)
- QuickTime movies of various types of organic reactions, including substitution reactions, eliminationreactions, and electrophilic aromatic substitution reactions. Each movie includes a written description of the reaction.
Physical Chemistry
- Chemistry Web Book (NIST)
- Searchable database of thermodynamic and ion-energetics data. Searchable by name, formula, and CAS number.
- CODATA Key Values for Thermodynamics
- Contains a table of thermodynamic data for selected substances.
- Second Law of Thermodynamics
- This site "provides a great discussion of the Second Law of Thermodynamics, spontaneity, and entropy."
- Superconductors for Beginners
- Provides a history of superconductors, and glossary.

