- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Biology >
- Zoology
Zoology
Jump to: Amphibians & Reptiles | Birds | Fish | Insects | Mollusks | Mammals | Zoology
Amphibians
- Amphibian Embryology Tutorial (University of Wisconsin)
- Basic tutorial designed to introduce the audience to four stages of amphibian development: fertilization, cleavage, gastrulation, and neurulation.
- Contemporary Herpetology California Academy of Sciences
- A peer-reviewed electronic journal. Topics include "ecology, ethology, systematics, conservation biology, and physiology".
- Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center (US Geological Survey)
- Includes distribution maps and databases seachable by taxon or region. Includes the North American Reporting Center for Amphibian Malformations and the Bird Checklists of the United States
Birds
- All About Birds (Cornell)
- Provides information on where to go birding, how to identify birds, and how to report bird observations. It covers conservation efforts for birds, national bird projects, and has a bird guide with a small video gallery. Based off of Cornell's Birds of America.
- DUCKDATA: A Bibliographic Database of North American Waterfowl (Anatidae) and Their Wetland Habitats (US Department of Interior)
- "Provides a comprehensive bibliography of published literature on the ecology, conservation, and management of North American waterfowl and their wetland habitats." Searchable by author, title, or keyword.
- Great Backyard Bird Count (Audubon Society & Cornell University)
- Contains annual data for the total number of sighted birds, and color maps of species distribution.
- Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center (US Geological Survey)
- Includes distribution maps and databases seachable by taxon or region. Includes the North American Reporting Center for Amphibian Malformations and the Bird Checklists of the United States.
Fish
- FishScope (University of Washington)
- Contains "time-lapse recordings and confocal images dealing with the developmental biology of fish." Includes still images.
- Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
- Excellent for current news and departmental reports.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- Provides an extensive list of U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service departments by state.
Insects
- Butterflies of North America (USGS)
- Supports information about butterflies for all of North America. It includes brief species descriptions with color photos; provides confirmed, unconfirmed, or dubious records of butterfly "sightings" complete with maps down to the county level; and provides a list of references.
- Ecological Database of the World's Insect Pathogens (Illinois Natural History Survey)
- "Provides information on fungi, viruses, protozoa, mollicutes, nematodes, and bacteria (other than Bacillus thuringiensis) that are infectious in insects, mites, and related arthropods." Includes information on habitat, food, and generations per year for the insects.
- Entomology Index of Internet Resources (Iowa State University)
- Searchable database of Internet resources devoted to entomology and bugs. Also browseable by subject.
- Orthoptera Species File Online (University of Conn./Academy of Natural Sciences)
- Supported by the NSF. Provides searchable access to taxonomic data and images of Tettigonioidea, Grylloidea, Tridactyloidea, Tetrigoidea, Acridomorpha, and Gryllacridoidea (coming soon).
Mollusks
- Cephalopod Page
- This is full of useful information on the class Cephalopda (squids, cuttlefish, and octopuses), including taxonomy and life history.
Mammals
- Bat Conservation International
- Although much of this site is intended for popular audiences, there are some very useful resources. There is a searchable bibliography, a species list, and echolocation frequencies.
- Breeds of Livestock (Oklahoma State University)
- Identifies and describes breeds of cattle (beef and dairy), sheep. horses, and swine. Great pictures!
- Primate Info Net (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- The website of the Wisconsin Regional Primate Research Center. Includes the Primate Information Network and the International Directory of Primatology.
- PrimateLit
- A database on literature about scientific, nonhuman primates dating back to 1940. It includes all types of publications (e.g. articles, books, reports, dissertations, etc.), and covers a broad range of topics (behavior and development, to genetics and taxonomy). Supported by the NCRR & NIH, and maintained by the WPRC, WNPRC, and Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
Zoology (General)
- ARKive (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
- An international and centralised digital library for films, photographs and audio recordings of the world’s species. Good for finding images of species.
- Endangered Species Program (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
- Containing program information and species lists, policy documents, photos, and reports.
- Fire Effects Information System (USDA/Forest Service)
- This site has information (including fire ecology, fire effects, distribution and other general ecological information) for hundreds of species of plants and animals. Also includes an extensive list of references. Easy to navigate and use.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System (USDA)
- "A database of current names and classifications of all biota." The Data Access section contains access to the database as well as instructions for use. Searchable by scientific or common name or taxonomic serial number. Contains scientific name, common (vernacular" name, TSN, author and rank.
- Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center (US Geological Survey)
- Includes distribution maps and databases seachable by taxon or region. Includes the North American Reporting Center for Amphibian Malformations and the Bird Checklists of the United States
- NOAA's Coral Reef Information System (NOAA)
- This is a storehouse of data and information related to coral reef research. Included are essays, professional insight, an online "library," NOAA's Coral Reef Activities, a glossary of definitions, and NOAA's research data.
- Tree of Life (University of Arizonia)
- A phylogenetic navigator for the Internet.
- Internet Resource Guide for Zoology (BIOSIS)
- An organized look at zoological information on the internet. Arranged by phyla.

