- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Biology >
- Molecular & Cell Biology
Molecular & Cell Biology
Subject Resources
- Bioinformatics Hypermedia Server (Austrailian National University)
- Provides access to Internet information on bioinformatics, biocomputing, molecular biology, and viruses.
- Cell's Alive!
- Graphical view of cellular life, including: bacteria, allergy and mites, bacteriophage, HIV infection, anatomy of a splinter, making antibodies, cytotoxic T cell, and much, much more!
- Computational Molecular Biology at NIH
- Includes databases, tools, protocols, and references for molecular biology.
- Dictionary of Cell Biology (Academic Press)
- The actual electronic version of The Dictionary of Cell Biology, Second Edition (1995).
- Entrez (National Center for Biotechnology Information, NIH)
- Provides access to information related to molecular biology, genetics, and molecular sequencing, a subset of MEDLINE, the NCBI protein database, and the NCBI nucleotide database. Also includes a 3-D structure database, based on crystallographic and NMR structure determinations.
- ExPASy Molecular Biology Server (University of Geneva)
- Provides access to databases containing citations and 3-D color images of protein sequences. Also provides links to other molecular biology sites.
- Image Library of Biological Macromolecules (Institute for Molecular Biotechnology)
- "Established to provide easy access to graphical structural information on biological macromolecules for scientists and others. The library contains (hopefully) all RNA structures from the Protein Data Bank (PDB) and from the Nucleic Acid Database (NDB) and DNA structures and proteins. DNA-protein complexes and RNA-protein complexes can be found in the DNA and RNA divisions of the Library and DNA-RNA hybrids in the RNA part." The collection is easily navigated and searchable.
- Kimball's Biology Pages
- A cell/molecular biology hypertext dictionary.
- Molecular Probes
- An excellent site,probably most useful for its "gallery" of probe applications, such as bacteria stains, calcium indicators, enzyme assays, fluorescent microspheres, nucleic acid detection, organelle probes, and yeast and other fungi stains. Also includes an excellent bibliography and related links.

