- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Biology >
- Genetics and Genomes
Genetics and Genomes
Subject Resources
- Agricultural Genome Information System (National Agriculture Library)
- Well designed site providing comprehensive searching of 5 notable databases: Plant Genome, Livestock Animal Genome, Other Organisim Genome, Plant Reference, and Insect Reference.
- Arabinet (Massachusetts General Hospital)
- Contains information about the Goodman Lab and links on genomic sequencing, lab publications, informatics and stock centers, map/genetics links, and physical map graphics.
- Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) (National Cancer Institute)
- "An interdisciplinary program to establish the information and technological tools needed to decipher the molecular anatomy of a cancer cell." The overall goal of the project is to make available a "comprehensive molecular characterization of normal, precancerous, and malignant cells."
- Genome Data Base (Johns Hopkins)
- Searchable access to genomic mapping data (Human Genome Project). Also provides access to many other resources, including a list of geneic sites by organisim.
- Integrated Human Gene Map (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
- Provides mapping and other information on 24 featured genes.
- Jackson Laboratory
- Jackson Lab, an independent non-profit mammalian research laboratory, maintains the Mouse Genome Database and the Encyclopedia of Mouse Genome.
- KEGG: Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes, Release 4 (Institute for Chemical Research, Kyoto University)
- Part of the Japanese Human Genome Program. Attempts to provide electronic access to the information provided by the various genome sequencing projects.
- Linus Pauling and the race for DNA (Oregon State University)
- Contains historical information, primarily from the perspective of Linus Pauling, about the race to solve the structure of DNA.
- Malaria Genetics and Genomics (National Center for Biotechnology)
- Genetic mapping of malaria.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
- Contains information on genomic biology. Includes a human genome guide, human sequencing, gene expression, genes and diseases, BLAST (an interactive genome/protein mapper), and a human genome map
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
- Searchable full-text version of Mendelian Inheritance in Man, an "encyclopedia of human genes and genetic disorders."
- Plant Gene Register (American Society of Plant Physiologists)
- Arranged by registration number. Includes a link to Plant Physiology.
- Scirus (Elsevier)
- Scirus, a free search engine put forth by Elsevier, is geared to find more scientific information than the average search engine. Search options include basic or advanced searching, limits to either journal articles or web resources. It only provides abstracts & not the full text for the articles, and includes suggested words to help refine a search.
- TIGR Databases (Institute for Genomic Research)
- "A collection of curated databases containing DNA and protein sequence, gene expression,cellular role, protein family, and taxonomic data for microbes, plants, and humans." Databases include: The Microbial Database, The Human Gene Index, The Mouse Gene Index, The Rice Gene Index, The Human Genome Sequencing Project, The Human cDNA Mapping Project, The Arabidopsis Thaliana Database, The Expressed Gene Anatomy Database and Sequences, Sources, Taxa.

