- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Biology >
- Botany
Botany
Jump to: Aquatic and Wetlands| Botanical Gardens| Botany (General)| Forestry & Dendrochronology| Illustrations| Mycology| Phycology
Aquatic and Wetlands Plants
- Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants(University of Florida)
- Also includes APIRS, the Aquatic and Wetland Plant Information Retrieval System. Contains pictures and information about aquatic and wetland plants.
- Harmful Algae Page(National Office of Marine Biotoxins and Harmful Algal Blooms)
- Wonderfully designed site that includes almost everything you ever wanted to know about Harmful Algal Blooms. Interesting sections include an introduction to algal blooms and red tides, images, species information, illness information, and a distribution map.
Botanical Gardens
- American Association of Botanical Gardens and Arboreta
- Includes links to member institutions (most major botanical gardens in the U.S. and a number of non-U.S. ones, also) and other bontanically relevant links.
- Seiwa-en
- A tour of the Japanese Garden at the Missouri Botanical Garden(one of the best designed web sites I have ever seen). The site is designed in such a way that fits in with the look and feel of a Japanese Garden.
Botany
- Botany 301: Taxonomy of Flowering Plants(Texas A & M)
- Includes illustrations, lecture and lab notes, and other online data.
- Endangered Species Program(US Fish and Wildlife Service)
- Well done site containing program information and species lists, policy documents, and photos and reports.
- Fire Effects Information System(USDA/Forest Service)
- Yet another example of how well the government is utilizing the Internet to disseminate information! This site has information (including fire ecology, fire effects, distribution and other general ecological information) for hundreds of species of plants and animals. Also includes an extensive list of references. Easy to navigate and use.
- Gesneriad Reference Web
- Provides access to over 300 color images of gesneriads (tropical herbs and shrubs). Also includes brief descriptions.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System(USDA)
- "A database of current names and classifications of all biota." The Data Access section contains access to the database as well as instructions for use. Searchable by scientific or common name or taxonomic serial number. Contains scientific name, common (vernacular" name, TSN, author and rank.
- Internet Directory for Botany
- A well done, well organized collection of Internet sites related to botany. It is searchable by subject and browseable alphabetically.
- Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book (Institute for Plant Diseases and Plant Protection)
- Well organized, well developed "virtual library" of Internet resources for plant pathology and applied entomology. Accessed by topic (mycology, nematology, pesticides, etc.) or format.
- Plants National Database(USDA - Natural Resources Conservation Service)
- Another example of what the internet should be! A wonderful, searchable database of North American plants. Includes common name, scientific name, importance, distribution, references, and full color photos! Our tax dollars are being well spent!
Forestry and Dendrochronology
- Fire Effects Information System(USDA/Forest Service)
- Yet another example of how well the government is utilizing the Internet to disseminate information! This site has information (including fire ecology, fire effects, distribution and other general ecological information) for hundreds of species of plants and animals. Also includes an extensive list of references. Easy to navigate and use.
- Ultimate Tree Ring Webpage(Valdosta State University)
- Probably the best website available for tree-ring (dendrochronology) research. Includes images, facts, and links to other highly useful resources, including the Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research.

