- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Biology
Biology
Jump to: Agriculture | Associations | Biology | Botany | Educational Resources | Ecology | Electronic Journals | Genetics & Genomes | Microbiology | Microscopy | Molecular & Cell Biology | Museums | Proteins | Zoology
Library Supported Databases
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
- Provides full text for more than 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
- AccessScience
- Electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Completely searchable.
- Agricola (1970 - )
- Provides access to over 3.5 million citations from scholarly journals, government publications, books, and other documents covering every major agricultural subject. Also useful for forestry, wildlife management, and other applications of the biological sciences.
- BioOne (2000 - )
- Provides access to over 40 interrelated journals focused on the biological, environmental, and ecological sciences.
- Annual Reviews
- Searchable access to the full-text of AR in the physical and biomedical sciences.
- BIOSIS Previews (1995 - )
- Web-based version of Biological Abstracts, plus BA/RRM. Indexes over 7000 journals related to the biological and biomedical sciences, as well as books, proceedings, reports and reviews. Please logoff when finished.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981 - )
- Provides multidisciplinary coverage of relevant fields across the environmental
sciences. Also Includes:
- Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current
- ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality 1990-Current
- Ecology Abstracts 1982-Current
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts 1981-Current
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) 1982-Current
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 1982-Current
- Pollution Abstracts 1981-Current
- Toxicology Abstracts 1981-Current
- Water Resources Abstracts
- Ingenta (1988 - )
- Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 120 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available.
- JSTOR (Various Dates)
- Provides keyword access to approximately 17,000 journals. Very strong in the sciences.
- Medline Plus (1998 - )
- Contains health topics, drug information, medical dictionary, medical directories, and more. It also links to Pubmed (formerly called Medline).
- PubChem
- PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within NCBI: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
- PubMed (1966 - )
- Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. PubMed provides links to some full-text articles and related resources. Search for medical journal titles by abbreviations.
- Science Citation Index (1989 - )
- As Web of Science, web-based access to the citation indexes. Includes citation and keyword searching of over 5000 science journals.
- SciFinder
- SciFinder indexes chemical literature in various fields of study such as biology, chemistry, geoscience, physics, engineering, agriculture, medicine, life sciences, etc. It consists of citations, abstracts, and the citation analyses of the Chemical Abstracts Services (CAS) and the medical literature of PubMed (Medline). It covers over 8,000 journals, 19.6 million documents, and 32 million unique chemical substances. It also links to the full text of articles when they are available.
- ***Note: A SciFinder account is required before using it. Contact the Science Librarian, John Repplinger, for assistance (jrepplin@willamette.edu, 503-370-6525).
Subject Resources
Agriculture
- AgNIC (NAL)
- AgNIC is a portal for agricultural information. Each topic is sponsored by specialized institutions and land grant universities. The quality varies from subject to subject. It is searchable by keywords or subject.
- National Agricultural Statistics Services Annual publications (USDA-NASS)
- NASS annually publishes U.S., state, and county level agricultural statistics for many commodities and data series ranging from crops and animals to taxes. It covers data from 1840 to present. Current data is also available on the watershed level.
- Agriculture Fact Book (USDA)
- 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000
- Adobe Acrobat version of the document. Includes information on the cost of food & food services, the structure of U.S. agriculture (including farming regions and land use), and others types of information related to U.S. agriculture, farming, and land and natural resource use.
- State of Food and Agriculture (FAO)
- 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 (N/A), 2000, 2001 The full text of the FAO document that reports development in agriculture world-wide. Also includes table of contents for earlier SOFAs.
Associations
*If you can't find what you need on this list, try University of Waterloo's Scholarly Societies Project*.
Biology (General Resources)
- Biosphere 2
- Provides access to information on the Biosphere 2 Project, including sensor data and a "cybertour."
- BioTech's Life Science Dictionary (Indiana University)
- An illustrated glossary containing terminology in the life sciences (including some chemistry, ecology, and toxicology).
- Current Biological Issues (USGS)
- Maintained by the Center for Biological Informatics of the U.S. Geological Survey Comprehensive, it covers hot topics for biological researchers. It includes: bird conservation biodiversity, FrogWeb: amphibian declines & deformities, invasive species, polinator declines, West Nile Virus, and biology in the news.
- INFOMINE-Biological, Agricultural and Medical Resources
- Another comprehensive collection of electronic resources in the life sciences (University of California, Riverside).
- Internet Biodiversity Service
- Provides access to "names and hierarchies of taxa from five kingdoms, their descriptions and illustrations." Also includes molecular and population distribution data.
- Life (Charles Sturt University)
- An interesting collection of servers, including Biodiversity, Bioinformatics, Biotechnology, Complexity On-Line (artificial life, chaos, fractals, non-linear dynamics, neural networks, self-organizing systems), FireNet, Hazards and Risk Virtual Library, Map Maker, and Global Monitoring.
- Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network
- Provides background on the network, as well as to information gathered via the network and the research sites.
- President's Council on Bioethics (Council on Bioethics)
- Established in 2001, the Council on Bioethics investigates issues relating to human bioethics. It includes government reports, topics of concern (for Council), and background material.
- National Biological Information Infrastructure (USGS)
- A gateway to national biological data, such as geospacial coverage for forest management in the Pacific Northwest. Multiple access points (text, temporal, or spatial searching parameters to biological databases from many sources, including government agencies, universities, libraries, and even private organizations).
- SciWeb - The Life Sciences Home Page
- "Provides Internet-based Information and Communication Services addressing the needs of professionals working in the fields of biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, medical diagnostics, health care and companies servicing the bio-industry."
Educational Resources & Museums
- BioChem Net
- Well organized collection of educational resources for all areas of biology and chemistry, for all grades.
- BIODIDAC (University of Ottawa)
- Contains access to over 3,375 images useful for biology instruction (most complete for zoology, but also includes significant images from other kingdoms). Searchable and browseable.
- The Biology Project (University of Arizona)
- An excellent resources for anyone teaching (or learning) undergraduate biology. Contains realistic, but easy to load, graphics. Each topic (including cell biology, genetics, and molecular biology) contains an introduction, definitions, questions, related resources and "virtual activities."
- National Museum of Natural History (Smithsonian)
- Mostly a PR tool, this site does have some nice characteristics. There are some interesting online exhibits and the Research & Collections section is very useful. It includes sections for each division of the museum, including many notable catalogs of collections.
- Natural Perspective
- This site bills itself as periodical (content changes monthly), but it is really a very good overview of the classification of living things. In addition to information on all of the kingdoms, there is a species index of all the illustrations used in the site. Although the author is not a biologist, but a commercial publisher, the references are excellent and the information seems accurate.
- Project Bio (Iowa State University)
- Excellent example of online biology courses and curriculum materials.
Electronic Journals
American NaturalistCalifornia Wild
Cell
Canadian Journal of Animal Science
Canadian Journal of Plant Science
Canadian Journal of Soil Science
Conservation Ecology
Electronic Green Journal (Full text)
EMBO Journal
Emerging Infectious Diseases (Full text)
Endangered Species Bulletin (Selected Full Text)
Environmental Biology Online (Full text)
Estuaries (Full text)
Journal of Biological Chemistry
Journal of General Physiology
Landscape Ecology (Full text)
Nature
Nature Biotechnology
Our Planet
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
Science
ScienceWeek
ScienceWeek Medicine
Women in Natural Resources
Microbiology
- Dictionary of Cell Biology
- The actual electronic version of The Dictionary of Cell Biology, Second Edition (1995).
- EcoCyc: Encyclopedia of E. coli Genes and Metabolism
- Everything you ever wanted to know, with pictures, about the genetics and metabolism of E. coli, but were afraid to ask.
- Introducton to Molecular Virology (University of Cape Town)
- A well-put together introduction to the discipline with information ranging from the basic question of what a virus is to the more complex replication of viruses.
Microscopy
- Dennis Kunkel's Microscopy (University of Hawaii)
- From the Pacific Biomedical Research Center. Contains image gallaries of images from light and electron microscopes, as well as a primer on microscopy.
- Nanoworld Web Page (Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis, University of Queensland)
- Contains information about the Centre and the topic. The biggest draw is the collection of scanning electron microscope (SEM) and transmission electron microscope (TEM) images.
- World Wide Web Virtual Library--Microscopy (University of Oklahoma)
- Another of the infamous Virtual Libraries. Well organized, with a wide variety of information related to the topic, including general and educational sites, applications, techniques, and vendors. Sites of interest include the first photograph of the Ebola virus!
Proteins
- ExPASy Molecular Biology Server (University of Geneva)
- Provides access to databases containing citations and 3-D color images of protein sequences. Also provides links to other molecular biology sites.
- World Wide Protein Data Bank (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
- An archive of experimentally determined three-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules, serving a global community of researchers, educators, and students.
- SCOP: Structural Classification of Proteins (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Centre for Protein Engineering)
- Describes " structural and evolutionary relationships of all known protein structures." Organized by class, fold, superfamily, family and species. User can browse the hierarchy or use a keyword, amino acid sequence or PDB identifier search to navigate. Provides hypertext links to a variety of different information sources, including Swiss-3DImage, RasMol Script, Chime view, NCBI Entrez Sequence Entries or Protein Databank Entries.
contact
John RepplingerScience Librarian
503-375-6525
jrepplin@willamette.edu
CSE Citation Guide
RefWorks (Citation Helper)
Instant Message

