- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Art
Art
Jump to: General Directories | Selected Sites | Ancient Art | Museums and Galleries | Willamette Art Information
Library-supported Databases
- Art Index (1984- ) and (1929-84)
- Art Index cites articles from over 280 periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, these databases index reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For example, if a painting appears as an illustration for an article or in an advertisement, these databases identify the work and lists it under the artist's name, with a full bibliographic citation. Art Abstracts offers well-written, detailed abstracts describing the content and scope of the source articles.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1989- ) and (1980-93)
- Provides citation tracing for over 1,100 international arts and humanities journals, as well as selective coverage of approximately 6,800 social sciences and science journals. Also searchable by author, title, journal, and keyword. Please logoff when finished.
General Directories
- ArtSource
- Artsource is a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. The content is diverse and includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians, etc. This site is intended to be selective, rather than comprehensive and was created by Mary Molinaro, former art librarian and current Associate Director of Libraries for Electronic Resources at University of Kentucky.
- FineArt Forum
- FineArt Forum is the network news service of the Art, Science and Technology Network (ASTN). Its mission is to provide useful information on art and technology to anyone who wants it and free of charge.
- The History of Art Virtual Library
- This covers Art History and Computer applications in Art History. It includes a list of university departments and links to some museums and galleries.
- World Wide Arts Resources, including the Artists Index
- Yahoo's Art History Page
- Yahoo identifies and organizes art history resources on the Internet.
Selected Sites
- Art Deadlines List
- List of competitions, contests, call for entries/papers, grants, scholarships, fellowships, jobs, internships, etc, in the arts or related areas.
- Art Image Browser
- A database of art, architectural, and museum object images put together by the School of Information and Library Studies at University of Michigan.
- Artnetweb
- A curated area for artists' projects, writings and resources; also includes a section for arts organizations and an arts commerce section.
- College Art Association (CAA)
- News, publications, and other information about the art historian association.
- The Getty Information Institute
- Projects, programs, and databases from the Getty Museum.
- Great Buildings Online
- This site offers a "gateway to architecture around the world." Contains lots of information and some photos of many well-known structures. Great Buildings Online is a subset of the Great Buildings Collection CD-ROM by Artifice, Inc.
- SYMBOLS.com
- This site "contains more than 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics. In 1,600 articles their histories, uses, and meanings are thoroughly discussed. The signs range from ideograms carved in mammoth teeth by Cro-Magnon men, to hobo signs and subway graffiti."
Ancient Art
- Argos
- "Argos is the first peer-reviewed, limited area search engine (LASE) on the World-Wide Web. It has been designed to cover the ancient and medieval worlds." It allows you to focus your search on just ancient and medieval resources. This very useful site was created at the University of Evansville.
- The Perseus Project
- "Perseus is a continually growing digital library of resources for studying the ancient world." It includes ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, art catalogs, and essays on such topics as vase paintings. This important resource for classical studies originated at Tufts University.
- ROMARCH Roman Art and Archaeology
- This site, sponsored by the Department of Classics and the Interdepartmental Program in Classical Art and Archaeology (IPCAA) at the University of Michigan, contains a variety of information on the art and archaeology of Italy and the Roman provinces from 1000 BC to AD 700.
Museums and Galleries
- Art Now Gallery Guide
- Includes current exhibition listings, art news, and art services from around the world.
- Detroit Institute of Art
- This institute is the fifth-largest fine arts museum in the United States with holdings of over 60,000 works. It is an attractive site with wonderful reproductions.
- Galleria degli Uffizi
- This is the official Web Server of the Galleria degli Uffizi in Florence.
- National Gallery of Art--the Collection
- "The National Gallery of Art houses one of the finest collections in the world illustrating major achievements in painting, sculpture, and graphic arts from the Middle Ages to the present." This site provides virtual tours of many of the NGA collections and a searchable index of data on thousands of objects in the collection.
- National Museum of American Art (NMAA) of the Smithsonian Institution
- Contains information and/or images for almost 1,000 works of art; also includes reports of upcoming and recent events.
- National Museum of Women in the Arts
- "The National Museum of Women in the Arts brings recognition to the achievements of women artists of all periods and nationalities by exhibiting, preserving, acquiring, and researching art by women and by educating the public concerning their accomplishments."
- Portland Art Museum
- This site provides information about the museum, exhibitions, collections, and educational opportunities.
- San Francisco Fine Arts Museum Thinker Imagebase
- The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco is committed to making their entire collection available online. The Imagebase is currently the largest searchable art imagebase in the world.
- Smithsonian Institution Home Page
- Contains information about all the Smithsonian Museums as well as Smithsonian traveling exhibits, research centers and a host of other goodies.
- WebMuseum
- A virtual museum on the Internet, the WebMuseum is a collaborative work of its visitors.
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library Museums Page
- A fine source for finding museums and exhibitions.
Willamette Art Information
- Hallie Ford Museum of Art
- Take a look at some of the art works at Willamette's new art museum and check out upcoming exhibits.
- Willamette Art Department
- A useful site for information about the department and its activities, the local art community, as well as the global art community.
- Course Information--Art 215
- Survey of Western Art: Prehistoric through Gothic--Professor Ann M. Nicgorski.
- Course Information--Art 270
- Roman Art and Architecture--Professor Ann M. Nicgorski.
- Course Information--Art 349
- History of Ancient Greek Painting--Professor Ann M. Nicgorski.
- Course Information--Art 353
- History of Greek Sculpture--Professor Ann M. Nicgorski.
- Course Information--Art 359
- Western Medieval Art and Architecture--Professor Ann M. Nicgorski.

