- Home >
- Guides >
- Subject Guides >
- Anthropology
Anthropology
Jump to: General Directories | Selected Sites | Associations | Style Guide | Anthropologists | Folklore | Native Americans/Indigenous Peoples
Library-supported Databases
- Anthropological Literature (1984- )
- Anthropological Literature describes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological Literature indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European languages from 1984 to the present.
- Art Index (1984- ) (1929-84)
- Covers more than 200 key international, English-language arts publications. Provides a helpful resourc for accessing ethnological topics from the art history viewpoint.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971- )
- Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Searchable by keyword (any field), author, title, journal, and subject, it may also be browsed by subject, journal or country.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans (Various)
- Contains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the 16th century to the present. Sources indexed include journal articles, books, essays, conference papers and government documents.
- Ethnic Newswatch Complete (1984- )
- Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
- HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) (1970- )
- Contains international information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics covered include politics, economics, social issues, and Latin American arts and letters. Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (1935- )
- The U.S. Library of Congress Hispanic Division is responsible for making the Handbook of Latin American Studies available for searching on the web. The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
- GEOBASE (1980- )
- More than 500,000 records covering the worldwide literature on geology, geography, and ecology. Includes citations to books as well as journals and covers anthropology topics such as gender inequality and kinship.
General Directories
- ArchNet: WWW Virtual Library--Archaeology
- "ArchNet serves as the World Wide Web Virtual Library for Archaeology. This server provides access to archaeological resources available on the Internet. Information is categorized by geographic region and subject."
- The World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Anthropology
- The WWW Virtual Library offers a distributed subject catalogue of resources. Covers a variety of different types of anthropology resources including specialized fields, research centers, anthropology departments, museums, etc.
- Yahoo! - Social Science: Anthropology and Archaeology
- Yahoo identifies and organizes a whole host of anthropology resources on the Internet. A good place to go to get an idea as to what is available on the Web.
Selected Sites
- Anthro.Net
- The Anthro.Net database provides links to thousands of reviewed Web sites pertaining to anthropology as well as offering bibliographies of related materials. The site is coordinated by Eric White, Department of Anthropology, University of California, Santa Barbara.
- The Anthropology Review Database
- ARD is a fully searchable, database of reviews of anthropological books, audiovisual materials, software and multimedia, and more. ARD "is intended to assist scholars of anthropology in accessing information about the rapidly expanding body of literature in their field, and to actually stimulate the creation of more useful information." ARD is supported by the volunteer efforts of its editorial board and staff, and by the University at Buffalo Department of Anthropology.
- Annual Review of Anthropology
- Annual reviews contain articles or chapters that give critical analyses of recent developments and research in a particular area. They provide overviews of topics and can be used to identify key writers in the field.
- Primate Info Net
- This is a WWW site for people with an interest in the field of primatology. PIN is maintained by the Wisconsin Regional Primate Research Center (WRPRC) Library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- Teotihuacan: the City of the Gods
- This site is a wonderful resource for information about the archaeology of Teotihuacan, an ancient city in Mexico. Arizona State University oversees the site.
Associations
- American Anthropological Association
- "Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology." This site has all sorts of information about the association, careers in anthropology, publications, interests groups, (including the National Association of Student Anthropologists), etc.
- Smithsonian Institution
- "Established in 1846, the Smithsonian Institution provides access to some of its museum collections, exhibitions, research documents and more. Check out Encyclopedia Smithsonian listed under Websites A-Z for information on such topics as Anthropology or Native American History and Culture.
Style Guide
- AAA Style Guide
- The American Anthropological Association uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of Chicago and AAA style rules and it provides examples of how to document source material when preparing scholarly papers.
Anthropologists
- Anthropology Biography Web
- This site offers brief biographies of notable anthropologists and was developed by anthropology students a at Minnesota State University, Mankato.
- Worldwide Email Directory of Anthropologists (WEDA)
- WEDA offers a searchable directory of address information and research interests of anthropologists from around the world.
Folklore
- American Folklife Center
- The American Folklife Center in the Library of Congress was created by the U.S. Congress in 1976 through Public Law 94-201 and charged to "preserve and present American folklife." The Center includes full text publications, digital presentations of online collections and links to other resources in ethnographic studies.
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
- This site provides electronic access to full-text versions of a variety of folktales and myths from around the world. D. L. Ashliman, Germanic languages and literature professor from University of Pittsburgh, is the creator of this useful collection.
Native Americans/Indigenous Peoples
- Aboriginal Canada Portal
- A well designed gateway to information about aboriginal peoples in Canada.
- Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians (ATNI)
- "ATNI is a nonprofit organization representing 54 Northwest tribal governments from Oregon, Idaho, Washington, southeast Alaska, Northern California and Western Montana. ATNI is an organization whose foundation is composed of the people it is meant to serve -- the Indian peoples." The site contains tribal information including demographics, tribal contacts, tribal web sites, and more.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection
- This site, hosted by the University of Washington Libraries, offers a wonderful digital database of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures.
- CodeTalk
- This is a federal inter-agency site with the purpose of delivering information from government agencies and others to Native American communities. The site has housing, education, and health information, Indian news links, and much more.
- Fourth World Documentation Project (FWDP)
- This valuable site is coordinated by the Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS), an independent, nonprofit organization. FWDP contains documents from a number of different associations, tribal governments, and indigenous organizations and has texts of treaties as well.
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
- This is a digitization of the first few volumes of an out-of-print compilation of treaties, laws, and executive orders between the U. S. Government and Native American tribes compiled by Charles J. Kappler and published between 1903 and 1904. Produced by the Oklahoma State University Library.
- NativeCulture.Com
- This site contains information on tribes, art, music, Native events and more and is sponsored by organizations such as the American Library Association. Check out Lisa Mitten's Native American Sites.
- NativeWeb
- The purpose of NativeWeb is to provide a cyber-place for Earth's indigenous peoples. The Americas, from the Arctic to Amazonia, are the focus for this site and it contains a wealth of information on Native Americans.
- Sipapu Chetro Ketl Great Kiva
- "This site presents a three-dimensional reconstruction of a Great Kiva, an architectural feature found in many prehistoric Anasazi communities in the Southwestern United States. This particular model was created using archaeological records from the excavated Chetro Ketl Great Kiva, which is located in Chaco Canyon in northwestern New Mexico."
Contact
Joni RobertsAssociate University Librarian for Public Services and Collection Development
503-370-6741

