Scientific Style & Format
These citation examples are based on the Name-Year style of the Scientific Style and Format guide, 7th edition, 2006. It is located behind the reference desk (call# REF T11 S386 2006), and was formerly known as the CBE style guide.
Bibliographies are listed alphabetically at the end of research papers, and works that are cited within the body of the paper are referred to as "In-text" in this guide.
ARTICLES
-
If the journal has a print equivalent,
cite it as an article and NOT an internet document.
- One to ten authors
- Bibliography
- Stitzel ML, Seydoux G. 2007. Regulation of the oocyte-to-zygote transition. Science 316(5823):407-21.
- In-text (Stitzel and Seydoux 2004)
- Stitzel ML, Seydoux G. 2007. Regulation of the oocyte-to-zygote transition. Science 316(5823):407-21.
-
- Bibliography
- Che YS, Gloer JB, Scott JA, Malloch D. 2004. Communiols A-D: new mono- and bis-tetrahydrofuran derivatives from the coprophilous fungus Podospora communis. Tetrahedr Let 45(37):6891-4.
- In-text (Che et al. 2004)
- Note: If there are more than two authors, only list the first author followed by "et al." and the date within the text.
- Bibliography
- Eleven or more authors (First 10 authors listed followed by "et al.")
-
- Bibliography
- Edmunds W, Pebody R, Aggerback H, Baron S, Berbers G, Conyn-Van SM, Hallander H, Olander R, Maple P, De Melker H, et al. 2000. The sero-epidemiology of diptheria in Western Europe. Epidemiol Infect 125(1):113-25.
- In-text (Edmunds et al. 2000)
- Bibliography
-
INTERNET DOCUMENTS
- (More examples, http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf)
- Bibliography
- Bush G. 1989 Apr 12. Principles of ethical conduct for government officers and employees. Executive Order 12674. Part 1. <http://www.usoge.gov/exorders/eo12674.html>. Accessed 2007 Nov 18.
- In-text (Bush 1989)
- Bush G. 1989 Apr 12. Principles of ethical conduct for government officers and employees. Executive Order 12674. Part 1. <http://www.usoge.gov/exorders/eo12674.html>. Accessed 2007 Nov 18.
- Organizational (professional) web site
- Bibliography
- Medtext, Inc. 2008. Hypertension, dialysis and clinical nephrology - kidney. <http://www.medtext.com/hdcn.htm>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text (Medtext 2006)
- Bibliography
-
- Bibliography
- Repplinger J. 2007. CBE citation style guide. <http://library.willamette.edu/guides/style/cbe/>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text (Repplinger 2006)
- Bibliography
- Substitute the author with the organization name, document title, or web page title in this order.
- Bibliography
- [USDA] United States Department of Agriculture. 2004. USDA announces first steps to update biotechnology regulations. <http://www.usda.gov/Newsroom/0033.04.html>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text (USDA 2004)
- Within your bibliography, skip the date. Within the paper (in-text), substitute
the date
with the access date.
- Bibliography
- APHIS. APHIS Hot issues. <http://www.aphis.usda.gov/lpa/issues/wnv/wnv.html>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text (APHIS 2004)
- From the internet
-
- Bibliography
- Red blood clot. Encyclopedia Britannica Online. <http://www.britannica.com/eb/art-100538>. Accessed 2007 Sept 19.
- In-text (Red Blood Clot 2007)
- Bibliography
- From a book
-
- Bibliography
- Bronze MS, Greenfield RA. 2005. Biodefense: principles and pathogens. Norfolk: England. p. 164.
- In-text (Bronze and Greenfield 2005)
- Bibliography
- One author
-
- Bibliography
- Djerassi C. 1992. The pill, pygmy chimps, and Degas horse. New York (NY): BasicBooks. 319 p.
- In-text (Djerassi 1992)
- Bibliography
By editor-
- Bibliography
- Herndl CG, Brown SC, editors. 1996. Green culture: environmental rhetoric in contemporary America. Madison (WI): University of Wisconsin Press. 315 p.
- In-text (Herndl and Brown 1996)
- Bibliography
Chapter, article or section with an edited book-
- Bibliography
- Cantrill J. 1996. Gold, Yellowstone, and the search for a rhetorical identity. In Herndl C, Brown S, editors. Green culture: environmental rhetoric in contemporary America. Madison (WI): University of Wisconsin Press. p. 166-194.
- In-text (Cantrill 1996)
- Bibliography
-
- Bibliography
- Azar B, Martin S. 1999 Oct. APA's Council of Representatives endorses new standards for testing, high school psychology. APA Monitor. <http://www.apa.org/monitor/tools.html>. Accessed 2007 Oct 7.
- In-text (Azar and Martin 1999)
- Bibliography
-
- Bibliography
- Clarke A, Crame JA. 2003. Importance of historical processes in global patterns of diversity. In: Blackburn TM, Gaston KJ, editors. Macroecology: concepts and consequences. Proceedings of the 43rd annual symposium of the British Ecological Society; 2002 Apr 17-19; Birmingham. Malden (MA): Blackwell. p. 130-152.
- In-text (Clarke and Cramer 2003)
- Bibliography
-
- Bibliography
- Swanson TA, Blair P, Madigan L. 2004. Reduction in medication errors through redesign of the medication use system [abstract]. In American Society of Health-System Pharmacists 39th midyear meeting; 2004 Dec 5-9; Orlando. Bethesda (MD): American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. MCS-28.
- In-text (Swanson et al. 2004)
- Bibliography
-
- Bibliography
- Ford PL, Fagerlund RA, Duszynski DW, Polechla PJ. 2004. Fleas and lice of mammals in New Mexico. Fort Collins (CO): USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station. General Technical Report nr RMRS-GTR-123. 57 p.
- In-text (Ford et al. 2004)
- Bibliography
-
- Bibliography
- Dettmers JM. 1995. Assessing the trophic cascade in reservoirs: the role of an introduced predator [dissertation]. Columbus (OH): Ohio State University. 188 p.
- In-text (Dettmers 1995)
- Bibliography
Government publications and documents
-
Personal web site
No author
No publication date
IMAGES
BOOKS
NEWSPAPER ARTICLE
CONFERENCE PAPERS
CONFERENCE ABSTRACT
TECHNICAL REPORT
DISSERTATIONS / THESES
Last updated: 9/25/09 by John Repplinger
http://library.willamette.edu/guides/style/cse/

