CBE Citation Style Guide (Sciences)
This guide is based on Scientific Style and Format guide 7th edition, 2006. If none of these Bibliographys seem appropriate, consult the CBE Manual shelved behind the reference desk (call number REF T11 S386 2006).
Citation Bibliographys are provided in Name-Year format. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. These items are referred to in the body of the paper using the In-Text style.
BOOKS
- One author
-
- Bibliography
- Djerassi C. 1992. The pill, pygmy chimps, and Degas horse. New York (NY): BasicBooks. 319 p.
- In-text
- (Djerassi 1992)
- Bibliography
By editor-
- Bibliography
- Herndl CG, Brown SC, editors. 1996. Green culture: environmental rhetoric in contemporary America. Madison (WI): University of Wisconsin Press. 315 p.
- In-text
- (Herndl and Brown 1996)
- Bibliography
Chapter, article or section with an in edited book-
- Bibliography
- Cantrill J. 1996. Gold, Yellowstone, and the search for a rhetorical identity. In Herndl C, Brown S, editors. Green culture: environmental rhetoric in contemporary America. Madison (WI): University of Wisconsin Press. p. 166-194.
- In-text
- (Cantrill 1996)
- Bibliography
DISSERTATIONS / THESES
-
- Bibliography
- Dettmers JM. 1995. Assessing the trophic cascade in reservoirs: the role of an introduced predator [dissertation]. Columbus (OH): Ohio State University. 188 p.
- In-text
- (Dettmers 1995)
- Bibliography
CONFERENCE PAPERS
-
- Bibliography
- Clarke A, Crame JA. 2003. Importance of historical processes in global patterns of diversity. In: Blackburn TM, Gaston KJ, editors. Macroecology: concepts and consequences. Proceedings of the 43rd annual symposium of the British Ecological Society; 2002 Apr 17-19; Birmingham. Malden (MA): Blackwell. p. 130-152.
- In-text
- (Clarke and Cramer 2003)
- Bibliography
CONFERENCE ABSTRACT
-
- Bibliography
- Swanson TA, Blair P, Madigan L. 2004. Reduction in medication errors through redesign of the medication use system [abstract]. In American Society of Health-System Pharmacists 39th midyear meeting; 2004 Dec 5-9; Orlando. Bethesda (MD): American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. MCS-28.
- In-text
- (Swanson et al. 2004)
- Bibliography
TECHNICAL REPORT
-
- Bibliography
- Ford PL, Fagerlund RA, Duszynski DW, Polechla PJ. 2004. Fleas and lice of mammals in New Mexico. Fort Collins (CO): USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station. General Technical Report nr RMRS-GTR-123. 57 p.
- In-text
- (Ford et al. 2004)
- Bibliography
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATION
-
- Bibliography
- Bush G. 1989 Apr 12. Principles of ethical conduct for government officers and employees. Executive Order 12674. Part 1. <http://www.usoge.gov/exorders/eo12674.html>. Accessed 2007 Nov 18.
- In-text
- (Bush 1989)
- Bibliography
NEWSPAPER ARTICLE
-
- Bibliography
- Azar B, Martin S. 1999 Oct. APA's Council of Representatives endorses new standards for testing, high school psychology. APA Monitor. <http://www.apa.org/monitor/tools.html>. Accessed 2007 Oct 7.
- In-text
- (Azar and Martin 1999)
- Bibliography
IMAGES
- From the internet
-
- Bibliography
- Red blood clot. Encyclopedia Britannica Online. <http://www.britannica.com/eb/art-100538>. Accessed 2007 Sept 19.
- In-text
- (Red Blood Clot 2007)
- Bibliography
ARTICLES
-
Multiple Authors The first 10 authors are listed. If there are
11 or more authors, the first 10 authors are listed followed by "et al."
Article Title All words are lowercase in the article title, except for first letter of the first word and for proper nouns.
Journal Titles First letters of each word are capitalized in journal titles. Journal titles are also abbreviated, with the exception of single word titles and accronyms (see CBE Manual, appendix 1 for abbreviations).
- One to ten authors
-
- Bibliography
- Che YS, Gloer JB, Scott JA, Malloch D. 2004. Communiols A-D: new mono- and bis-tetrahydrofuran derivatives from the coprophilous fungus Podospora communis. Tetrahedr Let 45(37):6891-4.
- In-text
- (Che et al. 2004)
- Bibliography
- Eleven or more authors
-
- Bibliography
- Edmunds W, Pebody R, Aggerback H, Baron S, Berbers G, Conyn-Van SM, Hallander H, Olander R, Maple P, De Melker H, et al. 2000. The sero-epidemiology of diptheria in Western Europe. Epidemiol Infect 125(1):113-25.
- In-text
- (Edmunds et al. 2000)
- Bibliography
-
INTERNET DOCUMENTS
- ***Note: Many web sites do not have authors. When no author or creator of the page is indicated, give credit to the organization or agency as the creator. For more examples, use the NLM guide for e-resources http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf.
-
- Bibliography
- Repplinger J. 2007. CBE citation style guide. <http://library.willamette.edu/guides/style/cbe/>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text
- (Repplinger 2006)
- Bibliography
- Bibliography
- Medtext, Inc. 2008. Hypertension, dialysis and clinical nephrology - kidney. <http://www.medtext.com/hdcn.htm>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text
- (Medtext 2006)
- Bibliography
- Substitute the author with the organization name, document title, or web page title in this order.
- Bibliography
- [USDA] United States Department of Agriculture. 2004. USDA announces first steps to update biotechnology regulations. <http://www.usda.gov/Newsroom/0033.04.html>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text
- (USDA 2004)
- Internet document without a publication date
- Within your list of citations, skip the date. Within the paper (in-text), substitute the date
with the access date.
- Bibliography
- APHIS. APHIS Hot issues. <http://www.aphis.usda.gov/lpa/issues/wnv/wnv.html>. Accessed 2008 Jan 14.
- In-text
- (APHIS 2004)
-
Last updated: 1/9/08 by John Repplinger
-
Personal web site
-
Professional web site
-
Internet document without author

